LibGuides: Wichita State Common Read 2021: What the Eyes Don't See: Related Materials

Related Readings and Materials

Brush with Death: A Social History of Lead Poisoning by Christian Warren
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780801868207
Publication Date: 2001

Controlling Lead in Public Drinking Water Supplies (IF11302)
Government Document
From Flint: Voices of a Poisoned City
Streaming film. 25 min. MyWSU authentication required.

Microbiological Sensors for the Drinking Water Industry by Tapio S. Katko (Editor); Bo Højris (Editor)
Call Number: TD384 .M53 2018
ISBN: 9781780408682
Publication Date: 2018

Census Mapping Tool created by CNN
This map is very helpful in visualizing racial segregation. The different color dots represent a number of people in a particular racial/ethnic group.
Interactive Map Showing Lead Risk
This interactive map created by Vox in partnership with the Washington State Department of Health illustrates lead risk exposure across communities (census tracts) in the United States. Zoom in and move around the map to see the different levels of risk in surrounding communities
Recommended practices for anti-retaliation programs
Government Document
Unacceptable Levels: TDC Entertainment
Streaming movie (1.21 hours)

Pediatric Environmental Health by American Academy American Academy of Pediatrics Council on Environmental Health; Ruth A. Etzel (Editor); Sophie J. Balk (Associate Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781610022194
Publication Date: 2019
Whistleblowing and Ethics in Health and Social Care by Angie Ash
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781784501082
Publication Date: 2016

Sample Searches

Lead AND ("drinking water" OR "water supply")

Water AND (whistleblower OR "whistle-blower" OR "whistle blower")

"Lead poisoning" AND children

"Safe Drinking Water Act" AND Flint

"Flint water crisis"

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Database provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, bringing ProQuest’s award-winning search functionality and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases. Terms of Use
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities. Terms of Use
MEDLINE (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present.
Terms of Use
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NexisUni, formerly LexisNexis Academic, Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.