World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos) cataloged by libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Includes books held by WSU Libraries. If not held by our library, use Interlibrary Loan to borrow the item from another library.
Index to all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by libraries, including Wichita State University. If not held by WSU Libraries, use Interlibrary Loan to borrow an item from another library.
Also available in print at GN34.3.F53 A57 2000.
The tradition of intensive fieldwork by a single anthropologist in one area has been challenged by new emphasis on studying historical patterns, wider regions, and global networks. Some anthropologists have started their careers from the new vantage point, amidst a chorus of claims for innovative methodologies. Others have lived through these changes of perspective and are able to reflect on them, while re-evaluating the place of fieldwork within the broader aims of general anthropology. This book explores these transformations of world view and approach as they have been experienced by anthropological colleagues, a number of whom began their work very much in the earlier tradition. They cover experiences of field research in Africa, Papua New Guinea, South America, Central and South Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Indonesia, Japan and China.
Call Number: GN316 .W469 2019 Textbook Collection in Reserve
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Unlike textbooks that emphasize the memorization of facts, Asking Questions About Cultural Anthropology: A Concise Introduction, Second Edition, teaches students how to think anthropologically, helping them view cultural issues as an anthropologist might. This approach demonstrates how anthropological thinking can be used as a tool for deciphering everyday experiences. The book covers the essential concepts, terms, and history of cultural anthropology, introducing students to the widely accepted fundamentals and providing a foundation that can be enriched by the use of ethnographies, a reader, articles, lectures, field-based activities, and other kinds of supplements. It balances concise coverage of essential content with a commitment to an active, learner-centered pedagogy.
Call Number: GN325 .C69 2016 (in Textbook Collection in Reserve)
Publication Date: 2015-02-10
Key Benefit: Examine Culture and its Influence on Human Life Conformity and Conflict: Readings in Cultural Anthropology seeks to teach readers the importance of culture and its influence on human life. By including examples of Western, North American cultures, the text makes cultural understanding and comparison more relatable to audiences. The inclusion of current information and articles allows readers to connect with major anthropological concepts through relevant events. The Fifteenth Edition reflects the changing nature of the discipline of anthropology by shifting its focusing to the more concerning issues of today. Useful features like a glossary of key terms help readers understand basic concepts discussed in the readings. Articles throughout the text touch on all major subfields, including environmental, global, and medical topics, giving readers a comprehensive introduction to the field.
Call Number: GN316 .L39 2020 Textbook Collection in Reserve
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
Designed for courses that make extensive use of ethnographies and other supplementary readings, this is a concise introduction to the basic ideas and practices of contemporary cultural anthropology. Not a standard textbook, Core Concepts in Cultural Anthropology, Seventh Edition, offers an elaborated discussion of the key terms and concepts that anthropologists use in their work. The book prepares students to read ethnographies more effectively and with greater understanding.
Call Number: GN316 .W47 2020 in Textbook Collection in Reserve
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
What is cultural anthropology, and how can it explain--or even help resolve--contemporary human problems? Robert L. Welsch and Luis A. Vivanco's Cultural Anthropology: Asking Questions About Humanity, Third Edition, uses a questions-based approach to teach students how to think anthropologically, helping them view cultural issues and everyday experiences as an anthropologist might. Inspired by the common observation that ninety-nine percent of a good answer is a good question, Cultural Anthropology combines a question-centered pedagogy with the topics typically covered in an introductory course. It emphasizes up front what the discipline of anthropology knows and which issues are in debate, and how a cultural perspective is relevant to understanding social, political, and economic dynamics in the contemporary world. Cultural Anthropology also represents an effort to close the gap between the realities of the discipline today and traditional views that are taught at the introductory level by bringing classic anthropological examples, cases, and analyses to bear on contemporary questions.
Introductory cultural anthropology text that explores the interplay of cultural creativity, human agency, and material constraint in the shaping of human cultural traditions. By focusing on contemporary applications of anthropology, the text encourages students to think critically about culture and to view the world in new ways. The authors incorporate cutting-edge theory into solid coverage of traditional topics and pay special attention to issues of power and inequality in the contemporary world, including gender inequalities, racism, ethnic discrimination, nationalism, caste, and class.
"Maintaining the structure and clarity of the previous edition, the second edition has been revised throughout to include new research, expanded discussions of climate change, and a chapter devoted to spiritual ecology. In the historical overview of the field, Patricia Townsend shows how ideas and approaches developed earlier are relevant to understanding how today's local populations adapt to their physical and biological environments. She next presents a closer look at global environmental issues - rapid expansion of the world economic system, disease and poverty, the loss of biodiversity and its implications for human health - to demonstrate the effects of interactions between local and global communities. As a capstone, she gives thoughtful consideration to how, as professionals and as individuals, we can move toward personal engagement with environmental problems."--BOOK JACKET.
This handbook of anthropology methods defines and describes anthropological fieldwork in practice. The authors examine historical methods, surveys, linguistic methods, comparative research, social intervention, and visual anthropology.