ANTH 600 Forensic Anthropology

Provides basic information on successfully collecting, processing, analyzing, and describing skeletal human remains. Forensic Anthropology Training Manual serves as a practical reference tool and a framework for training in forensic anthropology. The first chapter informs judges, attorneys, law enforcement personnel, and international workers of the information and services available from a professional forensic anthropologist. The first section (Chapters 2-11) is a training guide to assist in the study of human skeletal anatomy. The second section (Chapters 12-17) focuses on the specific work of the forensic anthropologist, beginning with an introduction to the forensic sciences.

Collective comparison of the many morphological and metric methods currently used on adult and juvenile human remains. This single comprehensive resource for sex estimation in skeletal material includes discussion on the evolution of sexual dimorphism in modern humans, how sexual dimorphism manifests itself in those bones, the growth development in juveniles and how sexual dimorphism can be measured in their bones. Data is presented which contradicts previously held postulates and some different uses of sex estimation methods are suggested, such as using the grading system to assess evolutionary change in skeletons or grouping juveniles into smaller groups by age to better estimate sex. New insights are offered for future research from the presentation of case studies on gender and a comparison of the sex differences between two African-American collections which suggests a correlation between occupation and evolutionary change. Investigations in Sex Estimation is intended to be used in the field and the laboratory for the identification of sex in human remains and aims to provide a wealth of data for future research in sexual dimorphic studies. Provides the anthropological community with the results of the first collective comparison of the many morphological and metric methods currently used on adults and juveniles Introduces methods, reviews sexual dimorphism, and shares new insights for future research.

Click on title to access ebook.

Click on title to access ebook.

Click on title to access ebook.

Click on title to access ebook.

Presents a collection of original readings addressing all aspects and sub-disciplines of the field of dental anthropology--from its origins and evolution through to the latest scientific research. Represents the most comprehensive coverage of all sub-disciplines of dental anthropology available today Features individual chapters written by  experts in their specific area of dental research Includes authors who also present results from their research through case studies or voiced opinions about their work.

Ancestry determination in the identification of unknown remains can be a challenge for forensic scientists and anthropologists, especially when the remains available for testing are limited. There are various techniques for the assessment of ancestry, ranging from traditional to new microbiological and computer-assisted methods.

Click on title to access ebook.

Human remains and identification presents a pioneering investigation into the practices and methodologies used in the search for and exhumation of dead bodies resulting from mass violence. Previously absent from forensic debate, social scientists and historians here confront historical and contemporary exhumations with the application of social context to create an innovative and interdisciplinary dialogue, enlightening the political, social and legal aspects of mass crime and its aftermaths. Through a ground-breaking selection of international case studies, Human remains and identification argues that the emergence of new technologies to facilitate the identification of dead bodies has led to a "forensic turn", normalising exhumations as a method of dealing with human remains en masse. However, are these exhumations always made for legitimate reasons? Multidisciplinary in scope, this book will appeal to readers interested in understanding this crucial phase of mass violence's aftermath, including researchers in history, anthropology, sociology, forensic science, law, politics and modern warfare. The research program leading to this publication has received funding from the European Research Council under the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme (FP/2007-2013) / ERC Grant Agreement n° 283-617.

Click on title to access ebook.

In today's security-conscious society, real-world applications for authentication or identification require a highly accurate system for recognizing individual humans. The required level of performance cannot be achieved through the use of a single biometric such as face, fingerprint, ear, iris, palm, gait or speech. Fusing multiple biometrics enables the indexing of large databases, more robust performance and enhanced coverage of populations. Multiple biometrics are also naturally more robust against attacks than single biometrics. This book addresses a broad spectrum of research issues on multibiometrics for human identification, ranging from sensing modes and modalities to fusion of biometric samples and combination of algorithms. It covers publicly available multibiometrics databases, theoretical and empirical studies on sensor fusion techniques in the context of biometrics authentication, identification and performance evaluation and prediction.

Fingerprint identification is the most efficient, rapid, and cost-effective forensic identification modality. Postmortem Fingerprinting and Unidentified Human Remains is a consolidated and thorough guide to the recovery, identification, and management of unidentified postmortem fingerprint records - topics from postmortem fingerprint processing to database submission and case management are discussed. Additionally, a postmortem processing workflow is described, which delineates various basic and advanced fingerprint recovery techniques used to acquire examination-quality records.  Furthermore, Postmortem Fingerprinting and Unidentified Human Remains discusses the complexity of antemortem fingerprint databases and how to access each database for humanitarian purposes, bringing a modern value perspective to the topic.

In missing and unidentified investigations, an abyss of dissonance seems to exist between law enforcement and the community they serve that all too often creates grating wounds that may never heal. Utilizing Forensic Technologies for Unidentified Human Remains: Death Investigation Resources, Strategies, and Disconnects bridges this abyss.This is th

Click on title to access ebook.

Every year, there are over 1.6 million violent deaths worldwide, making violence one of the leading public health issues of our time. And with the 20th century just behind us, it's hard to forget that 191 million people lost their lives directly or indirectly through conflict. This collection of engaging case studies on violence and violent deaths reveals how violence is reconstructed from skeletal and contextual information. By sharing the complex methodologies for gleaning scientific data from human remains and the context they are found in, and complementary perspectives for examining violence from both past and contemporary societies, bioarchaeology and forensic anthropology prove to be fundamentally inseparable. This book provides a model for training forensic anthropologists and bioarchaeologists, not just in the fundamentals of excavation and skeletal analysis, but in all subfields of anthropology, to broaden their theoretical and practical approach to dealing with everyday violence.

Brings together scattered literature on the topic, assimilating disparate pieces that relate to the novel use of non-invasive three-dimensional imaging techniques in the forensic context. All chapters are written by specialists in the field who use these types of imaging techniques within their research, bringing an engaging and comprehensive view that demonstrates the current use of 3D non-invasive imaging techniques using case studies. In addition, the advantages for using such methods, their current limitations, and possible solutions are also reviewed. Includes three dimensional imaging techniques presented from a forensics point-of-view Written by well-renowned specialists in the field Assimilates disparate pieces that relate to the novel use of non-invasive three-dimensional imaging techniques

This volume integrates data from researchers in bioarchaeology and forensic anthropology to explain when and why group-targeted violence occurs. Massacres have plagued both ancient and modern societies, and by analyzing skeletal remains from these events within their broader cultural and historical contexts this volume opens up important new understandings of the underlying social processes that continue to lead to these tragedies.In case studies that include Crow Creek in South Dakota, Khmer Rouge-era Cambodia, the Peruvian Andes, the Tennessee River Valley, and northern Uganda, contributors demonstrate that massacres are a process--a nonrandom pattern of events that precede the acts of violence and continue long afterward. They also show that massacres have varying aims and are driven by culture-specific forces and logic, ranging from small events to cases of genocide. Many of these studies examine bones found in mass graves, while others focus on victims whose bodies have never been buried. Notably, they also expand widely held definitions of massacres to include structural violence, featuring the radical argument that the large-scale death of undocumented migrants in Arizona's Sonoran Desert should be viewed as an extended massacre.This is the first volume to focus exclusively on massacres as a unique form of violence.

Click on title to access ebook.

Click on title to access ebook.

In the post-Daubert era, forensic science disciplines are increasingly informed by robust, statistically-sound experimental research. The educational value of the well-documented case study, however, remains as important as ever. Emphasizing known contextual information, this volume serves as a case-driven guide to skeletal trauma analysis through the unique perspective of each chapter's authors. Both forensic anthropologists and pathologists contribute skeletal trauma cases covering a range of topics including child abuse, blunt force trauma, descents from height, plane crashes, sharp force trauma and dismemberment, gunshot wounds, blast trauma, and burned body interpretation. Several chapters also include a discussion of potentially confounding taphonomic influences such as animal scavenging, water immersion, burning, and extended postmortem intervals. Detailed descriptions with multiple supporting images allow the practitioner's skeletal trauma interpretation to be compared to the "answer" as it pertains to the known circumstances surrounding the traumatic events of each case.