Digital Scholarship

Our community calendar covers events relevant to Digital Libraries and Archives, Digital Humanities, and Digital Museums, as well as a growing number of Open Science and Digital Publishing events worldwide.

Includes webinars and past forum recordings. What's the DLF? networked member institutions and a robust community of practice—advancing research, learning, social justice, & the public good through the creative design and wise application of digital library technologies

Learning opportunities provided by DataONE, a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data. DataONE promotes best practices in data management through responsive educational resources and materials.

This online coursebook (and related collection of resources) is meant to provide introductory materials to digital approaches relevant to a wide range of disciplines. The lessons and tutorials assume no prior knowledge or experience and are meant to introduce fundamental skills and critical issues in digital humanities.

The Digital Humanities Summer Institute provides an ideal environment for discussing and learning about new computing technologies and how they are influencing teaching, research, dissemination, creation, and preservation in different disciplines, via a community-based approach.

HILT is a 5-day training institute that includes keynotes, ignite talks, and local cultural heritage excursions for researchers, students, early career scholars and cultural heritage professionals who seek to learn more about Digital Humanities theory, practice, and culture.

The ICPSR Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research is offering over 80 courses on a broad range of methodologies and techniques that are relevant for research in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Computing and programming courses may also be relevant to humanities scholars.

Courses introduce participants to methodologies, coding, and programming languages associated with the Digital Humanities. We focus on creation, editing, and searchability of digital archives, as well as OCR, data mining and statistical analysis.

Peer-reviewed, open-source programming tutorials for historical research. Topics include APIs, Python, Data Management, Data Manipulation, Distant Reading, Set up, Linked Open Data, Mapping, Network Analysis, Web Scraping, and Digital Publishing.

The Summer Educational Institute for Visual Resources and Image Management (SEI) is a joint project of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) and the Visual Resources Association Foundation (VRAF). SEI is a fantastic learning and networking opportunity for students and professionals interested in creating and maintaining sustainable digital collections of cultural heritage materials. The workshop offers participants the chance to meet colleagues from various institutions who are facing similar challenges.