LibGuides: ENGL 210: Business Writing: General Research Tools

Suggestion

Think outside of the box! If you're doing a topic related to a new or expanded service at WSU, search for other universities' webpages to look for similar programs. (Hint: student newspapers are a great resource for this and can be searched via the LexisNexis database or the university's webpage). If your topic is related to the city/city government, look for other similarly sized cities that have successfully started a service like yours or tackled a related problem. These types of sources can go a long way to justifying your project and demonstrating value.

Searching for Articles

Newspapers

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use

Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, books, and yearbooks in the field of education. Full text articles from hundreds of journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1996-present.
Terms of Use

Sports

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books, and magazines in sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and related disciplines. Provides full-text access to over 500 journals dating back to 1985.
Terms of Use

Business

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good choice for finding a number of articles on your business plan/topic. This databases searches scholarly journals, newspapers, business trade journals, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current.
Terms of Use

Social Services

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Article citations and abstracts from over 600 periodicals and scholarly journals in all areas of the social sciences. Includes full-text access to some journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1995-present. 99 simultaneous users.
Terms of Use
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 1,300 journals and other serial publications. Includes dissertations and book reviews. Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1979-present. Terms of Use
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected with coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Terms of Use

The Environment

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts scholarly and popular periodicals as well as government documents and reports. Some full-text. Focuses on the way humans affect the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Terms of Use