Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMGT 112: Introduction to Sport Management

This guide provides library resources and information for completing your research assignments.

Resources located in Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections & University Archives is located in the basement of Ablah Library, at the west end. This section of the library houses many resources on the history of WSU, and the history of WSU football in particular. The staff in Special Collections will be happy to assist you with your research, but you must make an appointment 24 hours in advance to use these resources. You can set up your appointment online at the Special Collections homepage (click on the Schedule an appointment link on the left-hand side of the page). Small groups of up to 3 students are welcome at the same appointment.


Here are the hours for Special Collections:
        Monday - Thursday                 8:00 am - 4:45 pm
        Friday, Saturday, Sunday      Closed


The resources below offer some great starting points for your research!

  • Vertical File of newspaper clippings on WSU Football
     
  • Media Guides for WSU Football
     
  • Game Programs for WSU Football
     
  • Sunflower
     
  • Sunflower Index for the years 1896-1992
     
  • History of Wichita State University Football - 2000 (CD) (Special Collections #5374)
     
  • Black and Gold: Remembering the WSU Plane Crash - 2009 (DVD) 

Newspaper articles

  • Sunflower
    1896-2001 -- on Microfilm #1018, located in the Reserve Room on the 1st floor of the Library.
    1974-2012 -- located at the east end of the 3rd floor of the Library in the folio (oversize) section (Call number: folio LD 2667 .S9x).
    Current year -- located in the Reserve Room on the 1st floor of the Library.

Books

Videos

Black and Gold: Remembering the WSU Plane Crash
Call Number: LD 2667 .B43 2009
This DVD is located at the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. It may be checked out for 3 days.

Search Engines

Google
A search on wichita state football will lead to some interesting results!

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers