This link opens in a new window
Click to search the catalog for a list of books in the Popular Reading Collection in the Reserve Reading Room of Ablah Library.
The Popular Reading Collection on the first floor of Ablah Library includes books that can be checked out primarily for relaxation, whether you are looking for something to take along on vacation or simply for a break from academic pursuits.
Our collection reflects a wide variety of reading interests, designed to meet the various tastes of our students, staff, faculty, and community. The focus of the collection is fiction best-sellers and popular fiction genres, such as mystery, science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction and young adult literature. The collection also includes non-fiction best-selling books--in such areas as history, business and money management, self-improvement, social affairs, and biography. In general, books in the collection are well-reviewed and published within the last year.
Books are added to the Popular Reading display monthly. Books are moved to second and third floor shelving after about six months on display.
Digital E-Book and E-Audiobook Lending
The State Library of Kansas works with Kansas libraries to provide digital library books for all residents, which includes downloadable audiobooks and eBooks. eBooks and eAudiobooks are available from multiple platforms listed here. Click the platform name to go to the homepage, where you can search the collection. To access these ebook and eaudiobook platforms, you will need to use a Kansas Library eCard. Instructions for acquiring an eCard are below. For more information go to the Digital Book eLending site at https://kslib.info/128/Digital-Book-eLending.
If you intend to read these eBooks on a computer or tablet, you might need to download Adobe Digital Editions, free software which allows you to access the eBook file for the limited check-out period (see information about the check-out periods below).
Lending Limits and Periods
| Service | Loan Period | Renewals | Holds | Early Return? | Max # of checkouts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CloudLibrary |
14 days |
Yes, if no holds | Yes | Yes |
5 at a time |
| Enki Library | 21 days | No | Yes | Yes | 10 at a time |
| Freading | 14 days | No | No (all times always available) | N/A | 5 per week (unused checkouts roll over for 4 weeks |
How to Get Your Kansas Library eCard
The eCard is available to all Kansas residents and can be obtained at any library in Kansas -- including Wichita State University Libraries. It provides access to digital materials (ebooks/audiobooks, research databases). It is not so much a "card" as it is a login for online materials. Choose one of our two options to get the eCard:
1. Email us at librarystaff@wichita.edu with your full name (including middle initial), email address and date-of-birth.
2. Go to the Circulation Desk at the Ablah Library to get a Kansas Library eCard. Please bring a photo ID.
You can find more information about the Kansas State Library eCard at https://kslib.info/137/About-Library-Cards.
Popular Reading highlights recently published books for recreational reading. Both fiction and nonfiction are included. The collection includes a sampling of diverse titles that are positively reviewed or included on best book lists.
Popular Reading focuses on current books, those originally published within the last twelve months. The Popular Reading selector may choose to add an older title to Popular Reading if it is the focus of a major campus initiative, such as the WSU Campus Read.
Popular Reading focuses on adult books. Books for people under age sixteen are purchased primarily to support the Teacher Education program and are housed in the general collection's PZ ranges.
The first 1-3 books in a series may be included in Popular Reading, but future titles will not normally be added to Popular Reading. The goal is to highlight a diverse selection of authors and titles, not to duplicate a public library or bookstore collection.
Popular Reading will not include books on current political figures and controversies. The collection is small, so it is impossible to present an appropriate balance of viewpoints on current politics. Books related to current politics are housed in the general collection.
Popular Reading books will be transferred to the general collection periodically, so they should meet collection criteria for the general collection. For example, books on the latest fad diet and mass market paperbacks do not meet collection criteria.
Popular Reading includes titles in the English language. Books translated into English are considered recent publications based on the date of the translated edition, not the date of publication in the original language. Books in languages other than English are located in the general collection.
The Catherine Conklin Yingling Endowed Fund was established by a donor to purchase Popular Reading materials. The Popular Reading selector may also add donated materials that meet collection guidelines. Titles purchased with funds allocated for the general collections may be added to Popular Reading if both the title's selector and the Popular Reading selector agree to highlight the book for recreational reading.
