Skip to Main Content

Social Work

General guide for Social Work at Wichita State University

Encyclopedias and Reference Sources

Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines recently published textbooks along with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum,

The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Publication Date: 2008
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Work by Stephen Webb (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Oxford Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by John Harris; Vicky White
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity by Linwood H. Cousins (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Also available in print. Call number: HV95 .E58 2014
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Gary L. Anderson (Editor); Kathryn G. Herr (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
Also available in print. Call number: HM671 .E53 2007
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: Narins, Brigham
Publication Date: 2019
The SAGE encyclopedia of lifespan human development by Bornstein, Marc H.
Publication Date: 2018

Encyclopedia of Social Problems by Vincent N. Parrillo (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Also available in print. Call number: HN28 .E55 2008
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Korsmeyer, Pamela
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Homelessness by David Levinson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Poverty in America by Russell M. Lawson
Publication Date: 2008
Also available in print. Call number: HC110.P6 L375 2008
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet A. Odekon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Publication Date: 2013

Databases for psychological testing instruments

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA. International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. A source of structured information about tests and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Terms of Use
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by Buros Institute, University of Nebraska. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Coverage: 1988-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

Books containing psychological testing instruments.

*Please note that DSM-5 was adopted in 2013, so older measures may not reflect the latest diagnostic information while other measures may still be valid. Make sure to verify older instruments for validity. If you have any questions contact your librarian.

General:

Clinical Assessment for Social Workers: Quantitative and Qualitative Methods by Cathleen Jordan; Cynthia Franklin
Call Number: RC469 .J67 2011
Publication Date: 2011
DSM-5 in Action by Sophia F. Dziegielewski
Publication Date: 2014
Essentials of Psychological Testing by Susana Urbina
Publication Date: 2014
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A sourcebook by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Volume 1 includes over 165 instruments to use with Couples, Families, and Children
Volume 2 includes over 300 instruments to use with Adults
Assessment in Counseling: A guide to the use of psychological assessment procedures by Danica G. Hays
Publication Date: 2013
More than 100 assessment instruments examining intelligence, academic aptitude and achievement, career and life planning, personal interests and values, personality, and interpersonal relationships are described.
Positive Psychological Assessment: A handbook of models and measures by Shane J. Lopez (Editor); C. R. Snyder (Editor)
Call Number: BF176 .P67 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Includes 19 instruments.
Rating Scales in Mental Health by Martha Sajatovic; Luis F. Ramirez
Call Number: RC473.P78 S245 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Includes 113 psychiatric rating scales.

Special Populations

DSM-5 Diagnosis in the Schools by Renée M. Tobin; Alvin E. House
Publication Date: 2015
Putting Analysis into Child and Family Assessment: Undertaking Assessments of Need by Ruth Dalzell; Emma Sawyer; Sheryl Burton (Foreword by); Donald Forrester (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2016
Family Assessment: Contemporary and cutting-edge strategies by Len Sperry (Editor)
Call Number: RC488.53 .A875 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques by John Touliatos (Editor); Barry F. Perlmutter (Editor); Murray A. Straus (Editor); George W. Holden (Editor)
Call Number: HQ728 .H267 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Volumes 1 and 2 include descriptions of over 900 instruments.
Volume 3 includes 168 complete instruments.
Psychological Assessment of Veterans by Shane S. Bush (Editor)
Call Number: UH629.3 .P79 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Sexuality-Related Measures by Terri D. Fisher; Sandra L. Davis; Clive M. Davis; William L. Yarber
Call Number: HQ60 .H36 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Includes 218 instruments.
Practitioner's Guide to Empirically-Based Measures of Depression by Arthur M. Nezu (Editor); George F. Ronan (Editor); Elizabeth A. Meadows (Editor); Kelly S. McClure (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000
Includes 24 instruments in Appendix B.
Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Anxiety by Martin M. Antony (Editor); Susan M. Orsillo (Editor); Lizabeth Roemer (Editor)
Call Number: RC531 .P73 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Includes over 75 instruments in Appendix B.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions |

Instagram

YouTube Channel

Federal Depository Library Program

HathiTrust Digital Library

Patent and Trademark Resources Centers