Government Information

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program. (GP 3.39:) Online only.

The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year. Online 1923-2023 and print (1972-2023 call number PREX 2.8: The latest will be shelved in government reference.)

The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and non-financial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government. Online and Print (latest year and updates only). Call number PREX 2.20:

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. (GP 3.8/8-9:) Online only.

This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. (AE 2.106/3:) Online 1996-present. Print at government reference for latest edition only. Does not circulate.

The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts. (Y 4.P 93/1:) Online from 1997-2016. We have print editions from the 51st-112th congress at call number Y 4.P 93/1:1 in compact shelving, available upon request.

The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
(X 1.1/A:) Online 1994-present.

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases. (Y 1.1/3:) Online and print.

The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary. 1992-present. (AE 2.109:) Online only.

Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more. 1995-present. (Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/)

An annual report which gives an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. 1995-present. (PR 44.9:) Online and print. Latest 10 years in government documents reference. Prior years in compact shelving, available on request.

Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. This website has replaced American Fact Finder.

Official source for authenticated PDF copies of documents from all three branches of the Federal government, including the United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional committee documents, economic indicators, and more.
(GP 3.43:) Online only.

The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders. 1970-present. (AE 2.106:)

1936-1993 online.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers. (L 2.3/4:) Online only.

The official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. 1991-2011. (AE 2.114:) Online at FDSys from Bush Sr. to Obama. More public papers are searchable at The American Presidency Project. The library has print from Hoover to Obama. (Public papers for Trump have not been released yet.)

The resource for all Social Security questions. A guide to Social Security for laypeople, published online by the Social Security Administration. Updated biannually (January and July). (SSA 1.8/3:) Online only.

The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-four titles. (Y 1.2/5:) Latest issue in print. 1994-present online.

Volumes 1-81 are available in PDF by chapter at the Library of Congress website (free) and also available through the library's HeinOnline database. Volumes 82-112 are available at GovInfo.gov.

Official handbook provides information on agencies of all three government branches. 1935-present editions.

From the Bureau of Fiscal Service, the Department of Treasury with Office of Management and Budget, prepares the Financial Report which includes financial statements for the U.S. Government. Most recent report is FY 2021.