Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ethnic Studies

APA and MLA Style Manuals for Citing Sources

APA

APA is an acronym for the American Psychological Association.  The Publication Manual  of the American Psychological Association is often used for research work in the social sciences.

Basic overview
Tutorial from the APA website - This tutorial gives an overview of using APA style.  Brief sections discuss setting up the format, citing sources within the text, and creating end references.  Several examples are given.  A search feature on the right allows the user to focus on areas of interest.

Examples
Cite Source -APA (a product of Trinity College - Hartford, Connecticut) - This website offers a wealth of examples for the most commonly used types of references.

General Guides and Websites
The Writer's Handbook from the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin/Madison - this site provides a basic overview with examples of how to use APA style when writing a research paper. 

OWL from Purdue University .  From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue, this website also provides information about using  APA to format and to write a research paper.  A wealth of examples using different types of scholarly materials are provided

MLA

MLA stands for Modern Languages AssociationThe MLA Style Manual is often used for formatting and citing references when writing papers in the liberal arts and humanities.

Examples

  • Cite Source -MLA (a product of Trinity College - Hartford, Connecticut) - This website offers a wealth of examples for the most commonly used types of references.

General Guides and Websites

  • OWL from Purdue University .  From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue, this website also provides information about using MLA to format and to write a research paper.  Lots of examples using different types of scholarly materials are provided.

Other Style Guides for Citing Sources

Citation Management Software

Citation management software allows you to organize and retrieve citations to books, articles, etc. from library databases. Once citations are captured, they can be stored and manipulated in mini-databases. Citations and footnotes can be inserted into word processing documents and stand-alone bibliographies saved in common word processing program formats. There are several citation management programs available to WSU students, faculty, and staff including EndNote, Endnote Web, Zotero, and Mendeley.
 

Image result for endnote images

EndNote is software program from Clarivate that allows you to store and manage bibliographic references for your research projects and papers. It can format references and automatically create bibliographies using a variety of styles such as APA, Chicago, and MLA. All WSU students, faculty, and staff can download the EndNote software for free. It is available for both Windows PC and Mac platforms. Go to the EndNote library guide for more information. Click here for a handout on downloading and using EndNote.

Endnote Online

The web version is called EndNote Web. Click here for a handout on using EndNote Web.

 

Mendeley is a free, web-based took for managing reference, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizer. Tutorials and help are available through the Mendeley website.
 


Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for management citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies. Go to the Zotero library guide for more information. Tutorials and help are also available through the Zotero website.

 

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers