Management

Filled with real-world examples and dozens of field-tested tools, this thoroughly revised, user-friendly book gets first-time facilitators training like pros in no time.

Every step-by-step lesson in this comprehensive and inspiring training manual is augmented with instructive sidebars, a summary of key points, practice exercises, and so much more.

Packed with checklists, practice lessons inspired by real-world scenarios, and detailed examples and explanations of the right and wrong ways to do things, this handy resource is the start and finish of everything customer service managers need to know to thrive.

This shortform book presents key peer-reviewed research selected by expert series editors and contextualized by new analysis from each author on the development of professional management. With contributions on consultancy and the training of consultants, Taylorism and its appeal to socialists, the social position of managers, and the growth of the managerial class, this volume provides an array of fascinating insights into industrial history.

This book explores corporate training in the context of deploying strategic initiatives within organisations. It goes beyond merely explaining strategy, to investigating how it relates to skills training, and how companies can leverage this to implement their initiatives. Drawing on real-life client examples and the inspirational stories of highly successful individuals, this book highlights approaches that have transformed organisations and re-invented training.

Create Your Own Employee Handbook provides everything business owners, managers, and HR professionals need to create (or update) a legal and plain-English employee handbook. Find the latest legal information, practical suggestions, and best practices on: wages, hours, and tip pools remote work at-will employment discrimination and harassment complaints and investigations health and safety alcohol and drugs, including medical/legal marijuana workplace privacy, and email and social media.

The Employee Performance Handbook is a complete how-toguide for managing employee performance. Packed with practical and legal advice, this book offers smart strategies that will help get the most out of your employees and avoid legal trouble. You'll learn how to: identify problems early on decide when discipline is necessary choose the right response to a problem engage employees in improving performance fire employees when necessary protect against wrongful termination lawsuits, and manage a remote workforce effectively. With downloadable forms: You can download sample policies, sample forms, checklists, skills-building exercises, and more, (details inside).

This book has the answers--in plain English--to every employer's tough questions about the FMLA. It provides detailed information, sample forms, and tools that will help you and your managers figure out: who is eligible for leave what types of leave are covered how much leave employees may take, and how to comply with notice and other paperwork requirements. The 6th edition covers all of the latest changes to the FMLA, including those related to the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as changes to state family and medical leave laws. With Downloadable Forms: download an FMLA policy, notice forms, certification forms, checklists, and more.

Readers will master crucial foundational principles such as risk, return, and economies of scale and use them to evaluate investments objectively in everything from work/life programs to training. Also included are powerful ways to integrate HR with enterprise strategy and budgeting and gain decision buy-in from business leaders outside HR.

Teaching you how to overcome unconscious bias, this book provides more than thirty unique tools, such as a prep worksheet and a list of ways to reframe your unconscious thoughts.

This three-volume reference, covers three core areas of interest including Instructional Design and Training Delivery, Selecting and Implementing Performance Interventions, and Measurement and Evaluation.