Skip to Main Content

CI 270: Introduction to the Education Profession

This guide provides library resources and information on conducting research in the field of Education.

Social Studies

This page offers a sample of useful resources for teachers in Social Studies.

E-Books

Handbook of Research in Social Studies Education by Linda S. Levstik
Publication Date: 2008

E-Reference Sources

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
Publication Date: 2009
CIA World Factbook
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Mary Kupiec (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor); Mary K. Cayton (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner; Erick Detlef Langer
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Frederick E. Hoxie
Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by Vincent N. Parrillo (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Geography of the World by Susan Peach
Publication Date: 2009
New Encyclopedia of the American West by Howard R. Lamar (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Sage Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Larry E. Sullivan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009

E-Journals

Websites

Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids
DocsTeach
Use Primary sources from the National Archives.
EyeWitness to History.com
Interactive Sites for Education: Social Studies
Presidents of the United States
Resources and Educational Activities about the U.S. Presidents
A U.S. Presidents Learning Guide from the George Washington University
SCORE History/Social Science
Schools of California Online Resources for Education (SCORE)
Teacher Resources from the Library of Congress

Associations/Organizations

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions |

Instagram