COMM 301: Writing for Mass Audiences

the Project for Excellence in Journalism and the Committee of Concerned Journalists collaborated to create a joint site fostering dialogue on print, electronic, and Online Journalism practice and principles to raise professional standards. The site offers access to book, articles, speeches, essays, and curriculum plans sponsored or written by members of the associations.

Provides resources about journalism for consumers, students and producers of news.

The Center for News Literacy at Stony Brook University is committed to teaching students how to use critical thinking skills to judge the reliability and credibility of news reports and news sources.

World press freedom has an excellent presence in this Web site prepared by the committee to Protect Journalism (CPJ). CPJ, a “nonpartisan, nonprofit organization founded in 1981 to monitor abuses against the press and promote press freedom around the world,” has Tom Brokaw, Peter Arnett, Dan Rather, and Walter Cronkite among its current Board of Directors.

Contains tips for finding public records online.

Provides links to population, housing, economic, and demographic data. Also includes census related news. (U.S. Department of Commerce)

Indexes print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. Provides links to full-text, when available. Coverage: 1994-present.

Full-text access to information and publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Coverage: generally from 1994-present.

Provides demographics, open records, reports and communications relating to Sedgwick County, Kansas

KansasOpenGov gives Kansans a clear look at how their state and local tax dollars are spent. It's one of three transparency sites listed on the State of Kansas web site; the other two sites are the state's own KanView and US OpenGov operated by The White House.

Presented by the Society of Professional Journalists - State/Local Government Resources and Links

Major administrative datasets of the U.S. government — all in one place.