Welcome to University Libraries! If you are new to Wichita State, please view the PowerPoint presentation for an introduction to our basic services and collections. We have study rooms, 3-D printer, sound booth, theses, rare books and other primary research materials, streaming media, and many other services and collections. View the presentation below for more information.
In addition to services and collections available to all students, we have some services of more interest to graduate students and teaching assistants.
Most WSU library books may be checked out for four weeks. The first renewal for each book may be requested online through the "My Account" tab in the Online Catalog, and a second renewal (for a total of 12 weeks) may be requested with a phone call to the Circulation Desk at 978-3582. However, Teaching Assistants may apply for extended book loans. Click here for the request form, which is listed under "other request forms."
ILL will help researchers obtain books, articles, videos, and other materials not available at University Libraries. Click here to create an account and make a request. The request form may be completed manually, but most library databases include a link to ILL which completes the form automatically. Ask a librarian for more information.
Scan-on-Demand is a fee-based service. If an item is available in print at University Libraries and NOT electronically, ILL will scan it and send it to you electronically for a fee. Click here for more information.
Lockers are available for students completing a thesis or dissertation. Click here for the "Graduate Locker Request" policy and form.
Thesis and dissertations available from Wichita State as well as other schools may be helpful. The Theses and Dissertations library guide has more information.
Librarians are available for consultation and instruction. Click on the "Contact a Subject Librarian" tab in the box below for the name and contact information for the librarian who liaisons with your college or academic department. Library databases and other electronic resources are listed on the A-Z Databases page. Resources are also listed on library guides. Guides are listed here by subject and course. There are also guides about library-related topics, such as how to use specific databases, finding reliable resources, and SAC/SGA DVD collection.
Teaching assistants may find it helpful to schedule a librarian to teach basic research skills and library research skills to your classes. Librarians can help your students learn how to access articles and other library resources, how to select appropriate resources and other library and research-related topics. Click here for the Library Resources for Classroom Instruction library guide for more information. Librarians are available to teach whenever classes are scheduled. This includes throughout the day, in the evenings, at the main campus and all satellite campuses. Click here for the Instruction Request Form or contact your liaison librarian directly.
Librarians may also be embedded in Blackboard and provide other research support for your students. Ask a librarian for more information or see this library guide.
Course reserves are available for instructors. Click here for the request form and more information. Use Course Reserves to
Learning Express is a library database that has many tutorials. Learn how to use Microsoft Office tools and other software, prepare for many occupation exams, practice for the GRE, learn more about careers, or improve basic English or math skills.
Come talk to a librarian in person at the Reference Desk on the first floor of Ablah Library.
What are some reasons to contact a librarian?
To find the best resources for your topic
To discuss strategies and develop skills for searching article databases and the library catalog
To identify and locate primary source materials
If a librarian is not available, you may also seek assistance from other library staff during library hours who will refer you to the appropriate librarian or department as necessary.
See the full schedule of library hours including Reference Desk, presession, intersession, and holiday hours for the main library (Ablah) and for the Chemistry and Music branch libraries. Ablah Library hours are also available on an automated phone line: 316-978-3581.
Chat with us or request a Zoom session via the adjacent chat box. Our chat service is staffed during Reference Desk hours.
If chat is not available, send us a question via e-mail.
Reference Desk (Ablah Library) 316-978-3584
Circulation Desk (Ablah Library) 316-978-3582
Music Library 316-978-3029
Interlibrary Loan 316-978-3167
Subject Librarians are available to help students, faculty, and staff with their research and library instruction needs. Use the left-hand navigation tabs to find the librarian assigned to a particular subject or college. Contact your subject librarian for assistance or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation.
