LibGuides: Graduate School Survival Guide: Library Resources

Library Resources

University Libraries has LOTS of databases and other electronic resources. Most of these index articles and have full-text articles. Some these article databases are interdisciplinary while others are specialized. Electronic resources also include business directories, encyclopedias, streaming media, and tests. Click the link below for the full list of electronic resources available at University Libraries.

Databases A-Z
All databases available to WSU students.

SmartSearch does NOT search all library databases. Also, databases with special features, like MEDLINE or MathSciNet, are not as useful through SmartSearch. Be sure to think critically about what information you want to find before you select a specific database or use a search engine like SmartSearch. Here are just a few of the more popular databases not included in SmartSearch. Click here for a complete list of library databases.

MathSciNet
Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and proceedings papers, books or chapters, advanced-level textbooks, and published dissertations in mathematics and related fields. Coverage: 1940-present.
MEDLINE (Proquest)
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present.
PubMed (Medline)
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Collection
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.

Here are a few of the multi-disciplinary resources NOT found in SmartSearch. Click here for a complete list of library databases.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Full-text access to Encyclopedia Britannica and Book of the Year articles. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Encyclopedia of Aging by Richard Schulz
ISBN: 0826148433

Publication Date: 2006-02-01

Click on title to access ebook.
Definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. Contains the most current bibliography of an expanding literature, an exhaustive index, and extensive cross references.
Environmental Encyclopedia by Deirdre S. Blanchfield
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781414487397

Publication Date: 2011

Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues.
Understanding Crime Statistics by James P. Lynch (Editor); Lynn A. Addington (Editor)
Call Number: HV6787 .U52 2007

ISBN: 9780521862042

Publication Date: 2007

SOAR is the institutional repository of Wichita State University. The purpose of SOAR is to make the University's digital scholarship available to global audience and to serve as a reliable digital storage. SOAR has a dual function of a publication platform and a digital archive. Use SOAR to locate thesis, dissertations and other student presentations and publications.