LibGuides: ENGL 340: Shakespeare: Primary Resources

Primary Source Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Terms of Use
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A platform that allows searching across all of Gale primary source collections. Collections include: 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Indigenous Peoples: North America, Making of the Modern World, Ninteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana 1500-1926, and the Times Digital Archive
Times (London) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive has over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

ENGL 340: Shakespeare

Early English Books

Oxford English Dictionary

Primary Source Databases