HPS 121 W Bailey, C LeFevre
HPS 331 L Luinstra; HPS 421 W Bailey
Below you will find a collection of ebook and print reference materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
Routledge Handbook of Sport Governance by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport Governance is a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the wide range of issues shaping sport governance. It considers the evolution of the sport industry from a largely amateur, volunteer-driven sector into the globalised business that it is today and examines how professionalisation has fundamentally shifted the governance landscape for sport organisations and all those working within sport. Written by a team of leading sport management scholars from around the world, the book is organised around five key themes: Part I: Overview of sport governance Part II: Environmental context and policy perspectives Part III: Ownership structures and governance models: Implications for sport governance Part IV: Board roles in the governance process Part V: Future sport governance challenges Each chapter reviews the most recent research available and, in some cases, presents new data to support previously published studies. As sport governance is a relatively young field, each chapter maps future research needs to provide direction for sport governance scholars. A special feature of the handbook is a series of nine shorter research chapters in Part IV examining board roles in the governance process, tying theory to the day-to-day practical aspects of running a sport organisation. With broader and deeper coverage of the key issues in contemporary sport governance than any other book, this handbook is essential reading for students, researchers and practitioners in sport business and management.
Understanding Sport Management by
Sport management is a rapidly developing industry which continues to grow in size and scope on an international scale. This comprehensive and engaging textbook offers a complete introduction to core principles and best practice in contemporary sport management. Adopting an issues-based approach and drawing on the very latest research, it demonstrates how theory translates into practice across all the key functional areas of sport management, from governance and leadership to tourism and events. Written by a team of experts from across the globe, the book explores sport management from a truly international perspective and looks at all levels from professional, high-performance sport to non-profit and grassroots. With extended real-world case studies and an array of helpful features in every chapter, it addresses crucial topics such as: managing organisational performance communication and social media sponsorship and marketing the impact of sport on society future directions for sport management. Complemented by a companion website full of additional teaching and learning resources for students and instructors, this is an essential textbook for any degree-level sport management course.
Sports Injuries Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about sports injuries in various parts of the body, protective equipment and preventive measures, treatment options, and a special section on sports injuries in children and teens. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Routledge International Handbook of Sport Psychology by
Contemporary sport psychology is a rapidly developing and theoretically rich discipline, and a sophisticated and challenging profession. The Routledge International Handbook of Sport Psychology offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to contemporary sport psychology in all its aspects. Written by a team of world-leading researchers and practitioners from five continents, including both established scholars and the best emerging talents, the book traces the contours of the discipline of sport psychology, introducing fundamental theory, discussing key issues in applied practice, and exploring the most important themes, topics and debates across the sport psychology curriculum. Uniquely, the book presents comparative studies of the history and contemporary practice of sport psychology in ten countries, including the US, UK, China, Japan, Brazil, Russia and Israel, helping the reader to understand the cultural and contextual factors that shape international practice in sport psychology. As well as covering in depth the core pillars of sport psychology, from motivation and cognition to group dynamics, the book also includes a full section on cultural sport psychology, a vital but under-explored sub-discipline that is having a profound influence on contemporary theory and practice. With 56 chapters and unparalleled range, depth and currency, the Routledge Handbook of International Sport Psychology is an essential addition to any library with a serious holding in sport psychology.
The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management by 
Modern Sport Ethics: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by
The descriptions and examples of unethical behaviors in sport in this book will challenge readers to rethink how they view sport and question whether participating in sport builds character--especially at the youth and amateur levels. Sport potentially can teach character as well as social and moral values, but only when these positive concepts are consistently taught, modeled, and reinforced by sport leaders with the moral courage to do so. The seeming moral crisis threatening amateur and youth sport--evidenced by athletes, coaches, and parents alike making poor ethical choices--and ongoing scandals regarding performance-enhancing drug use by professional athletes make sports ethics a topic of great concern. This work enables readers to better understand the ethical challenges facing competitive sport by addressing issues such as gamesmanship, doping, cheating, sportsmanship, fair play, and respect for the game. A compelling read for coaches, sport administrators, players, parents, and sport fans, the book examines specific examples of unethical behaviors--many cases of which occur in amateur and educational sports--to illustrate how these incidents threaten the perception that sport builds character. It identifies and investigates the multiple reasons for cheating in sport, such as the fact that the rewards for succeeding are so high, and the feeling of athletes that they must behave as they do to "level the playing field" because everyone else is cheating, being violent, taking performance-enhancing drugs, or doing whatever it takes to win. Readers will gain insight into how coaches and sport administrators can achieve the goals for youth, interscholastic, intercollegiate, and Olympic sport by stressing moral values and character development as well as see how specific recommendations can help ensure that sport can serve to build character rather than teach bad behavior in the pursuit of victory. Describes and analyzes key ethical issues, such as cheating, fair play, violence, discriminatory actions, and the use of performance-enhancing drugs, in a single volume Identifies how ethical problems in sport affect sport in the United States and internationally but also significantly impact society overall Examines significant events and influential individuals to provide a historical and sociological context for understanding how and why individuals behave unethically in sport Provides a wealth of information and resources that describe how poor behaviors of athletes, coaches, and parents in sport can be changed through educational interventions and a reemphasis on values like integrity
Below you will find a collection of ebook and print reference materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
The Sport Business Handbook by
If you love sports and are fascinated by business dealings in this trillion-dollar global industry, then this is the anthology you've been waiting for. The Sport Business Handbook: Insights From 100+ Leaders Who Shaped 50 Years of the Industry provides insider perspectives from more than 100 of the biggest names in the sport business industry. Plentiful examples and stories, including insiders' views of major sports deals, make this book a bible of information for those looking to begin or advance a career in the field or for anyone interested in the behind-the-scenes intricacies of sport business. Editor Rick Horrow, an internationally known sport business and sport law expert who has been the architect of more than 100 deals worth more than $20 billion, has teamed up with renowned sport business scholar and practitioner Rick Burton and author Myles Schrag to assemble one of the most unique sport books ever published. You will be both informed and entertained by the personal insights of prominent sport business leaders, including league commissioners such as Gary Bettman, Don Garber, and Paul Tagliabue; team owners such as Jerry Colangelo and Tom Ricketts; executives such as Larry Lucchino and Pat Williams; administrators such as Joe Castiglione and Deborah Yow; professional athletes such as Scott Hamilton and Cal Ripken Jr.; and media personalities such as Jay Bilas and Ann Meyers Drysdale. This all-star team also includes legendary Duke University men's basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski as the foreword author. The Sport Business Handbook gives you guidance for everything from the basics of breaking into the sport industry to the intricate skills required to become an industry giant: Consider the role you want to play, what your values are, and how you can set yourself up for success in the industry. Understand the value of brand management and the opportunities for those with strong knowledge and skills in this area. Embrace technology and use the power of modern media to guide your organization toward its goals. Master leadership skills by establishing a framework for thinking and behaving as a leader at all times. Each chapter addresses a specific topic and weaves in story-like sidebars that share rare glimpses into professional dealings in sport. These 80-plus sidebars include "Game Changer" sidebars, which describe pivotal moments that influenced sport leaders as they strived for success, and "360" sidebars, which present alternative perspectives so all viewpoints are explored in finding best practices. Instructors who adopt the text will have access to an instructor's guide that includes links to online video and audio clips that tie in directly to book topics, along with a "Breakthrough Moments" list of the 50 most significant events, chosen specifically to supplement the book's content with societal context and historical depth. These additional tools feature questions and activities to spark classroom discussion and facilitate an enhanced learning experience for students. Nowhere else will you find such a comprehensive guide with practical advice and personal stories from the biggest names in the industry. The Sport Business Handbook is an engaging, informative book that will help you discover your strengths and develop your skills so you can become one of the leaders to shape the sport business industry for the next 50 years.
Organizational Behavior in Sport Management by
Organizational Behavior in Sport Management fills a gap in sport management literature by exploring the key organizational behavior topics in sport organization settings. The text covers issues such as diversity, ethics, values, behavior, leadership, and much more. Book Features Organizational Behavior in Sport Management offers the following features: * Learning objectives and discussion questions for each chapter that help students conceptualize, retain, and understand the content * Case studies with discussion questions to help students apply the concepts from each chapter * In the Boardroom sidebars that use real-life examples from organizations within the field to highlight key topics The In the Boardroom sidebars reflect best practices for various levels of numerous sport organizations, affording readers a great range of applications in the sport management world. Instructor Guide In addition, the text has an online instructor guide that includes chapter objectives, discussion questions from the text (and their answers), discussion questions for case studies (and their answers), suggestions for integrating the case studies into lectures, links to recommended websites, assignments, class projects, essay ideas, and lists of suggested readings. Focus of Book Organizational Behavior in Sport Management presents classical research in organizational behavior as well as up-to-date knowledge from the field of sport management. The authors offer information on individual, intrapersonal, interpersonal, and organizational processes that are fundamental to working within a sport organization, placing equal emphasis on what managers of sport organizations need to understand about human behavior and what each person brings to the work situation in terms of his or her own attitudes, thoughts, perceptions, and skills. The authors emphasize empowering employees and understanding their needs and desires regarding work, as opposed to managing employees in one particular way. With this in mind, the authors discuss the roles of sport organization administrators and executives, volunteers, employees, and players and coaches of sport teams, exploring how they behave independently as well as how they interact with each other. An Understanding of Organizational Behavior Organizational Behavior in Sport Management offers a foundational and contemporary look at the inner workings of sport organizations, providing numerous real-life examples from throughout the country and grounding students in the key behavioral and managerial issues that leaders, managers, and employees in sport organizations face today. As such, this text answers the key questions of why we do what we do at work, why others behave as they do, and how our interpretation of events and behaviors is subject to our own biases. In the process, students will gain an understanding of the most important organizational behavior topics and get a glimpse of how they could successfully function in a sport organization.
Sport Leadership in the 21St Century by
Every new print copy of Sport Leadership in the 21st Century includes access to the Navigate Companion WebsiteAll organizations look to leaders to influence and motivate employees in working toward organizational goals and future success, and that includes sports organizations. Sport Leadership in the 21st Century, Second Edition provides students with the most current and comprehensive understanding of leadership in sport management. Authored and contributed by leading sport management researchers and practitioners, this text immerses students in the learning process through case studies, interviews with leaders in the sport industry, critical thinking questions, and rich content. Each chapter has been developed to provide the latest research to help young professionals and sport management students become leaders in different areas of sport.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication is the only book to offer a fully comprehensive and in-depth survey of the contemporary discipline of sport communication. It explores communication within, through, and for sport in all its theoretical, conceptual, cultural, behavioral, practical and managerial aspects, tracing the contours of this expansive, transdisciplinary and international discipline and demonstrating that there are few aspects of contemporary sport that don't rely on effective communications. Including contributions from leading sport media and communications scholars and professionals from around the world, the book examines emerging (new and social)nbsp;media, traditional (print, broadcast and screen) media, sociological themes in communication in sport, and management issues, at every level, from the interpersonal to communication within and between sport organisations and global institutions. Taking stock of current research, new ideas and key issues, this book is an essential reference for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in sport communication, sport business, sport management, sport marketing, communication theory, journalism, or media studies.
Handbook of Sport Marketing Research by
Drawing from the seminal works published during the past two decades in Sport Marketing Quarterly, this collection edited by Nancy L. Lough and William A. Sutton brings to light foundational theories that have guided some of the most pragmatic studies to date. This Handbook revisits trends, presents instruments designed to assess key constructs, and provides critical analysis of industry practices with regard to issues such as gender, race, and ethical practices.
Contemporary Sport Management by
Keeping pace with the rapidly evolving field of sport management, Contemporary Sport Management, the authoritative introductory text in the field, returns with a thoroughly updated seventh edition. Over 50 contributors with a diverse array of cultural and educational backgrounds deliver a complete and contemporary overview of the field, presented in full color for a visually engaging read. With a simplified structure to reflect current demands of the profession and addressing all the Common Professional Component topics outlined by the Commission on Sport Management Accreditation (COSMA), Contemporary Sport Management, Seventh Edition With HKPropel Access, is organized into three parts. Part I, Introduction to Sport Management, provides an overview of the field and leadership concepts associated with it. Part II, Sport Management Sites, details the major settings in which many sport management careers are carried out, including new content on sport participation across the life span. In part III, Sport Management Functions, readers will learn about the key functional areas of sport management, including sport marketing, sport communication, sport facility and event management, and more, with new content on sales as a career path. New and updated content throughout this edition allows students to stay on the leading edge of the field: Discussion of the evolution of esports, fantasy sports, and sport betting Content covering emerging technologies in sport management, including streaming, artificial intelligence (AI), augmented reality (AR), and virtual reality (VR) New case study sidebars with short-answer questions Recommended Case Studies in Sport Management journal articles for each chapter, designed to promote critical thinking and demonstrate understanding of chapter content Related student learning activities and recommended articles are now delivered through HKPropel. These supplemental materials are designed to increase student engagement and enhance understanding of chapter content. With more than 200 activities, including comprehension activities, web activities, and Day in the Life activities tied to professional profiles, students will be challenged to think critically about sport management as both a field of study and a vibrant professional environment with a variety of career paths, and they will develop insight into issues they will encounter in their careers. Chapter quizzes are also included and can be assigned by instructors. Contemporary Sport Management, Seventh Edition, will broaden students' understanding of sport management issues, emphasizing critical thinking, ethics, and diversity while providing students with an introduction to all the aspects of the field they need to know as they prepare to enter the profession. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
