All of the following titles are available as e-books through the university libraries. Search for other books through the library catalog. If you have any issues accessing these books, see the Troubleshooting Tips for E-resources Page of this guide.
Interventions for Disruptive Behaviors by
Children and adolescents with disruptive behavior disorders struggle both in and outside the classroom. This book gives school practitioners vital tools for supporting students' positive behavior as well as their academic and social success. Chapters review effective behavioral interventions at the whole-class, targeted, and individual levels; parent training programs; and strategies for building adaptive skills. Core evidence-based techniques are illustrated with vivid, concrete examples. Ways to integrate the strategies into a school's multi-tiered model of prevention and intervention are discussed. In a large-size format with lay-flat binding for easy photocopying, the book includes 14 reproducible forms. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series, edited by T. Chris Riley-Tillman.
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions by
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions: Working with Disengaged Students provides an understanding of the factors that contribute to student disengagement, methods for identifying students at risk, and intervention strategies to increase student engagement. With a focus on translating research into best practice, the book pulls together the current research on engagement in schools and empowers readers to craft and implement interventions. Users will find reviews on evidence-based academic, behavioral, social, mental health, and community-based interventions that will help increase all types of engagement. The book looks at ways of reducing suspensions through alternative disciplinary practices, the role resiliency can play in student engagement, strategies for community and school collaborations in addressing barriers to engagement, and what can be learned from students who struggled in school, but succeeded later in life. It is a hands-on resource for educators, school psychologists, researchers, and students looking to gain insight into the research on this topic and the strategies that can be deployed to promote student engagement. Presents practical strategies for engagement intervention and assessment Covers early warning signs of disengagement and how to use these signs to promote engagement Reviews contextual factors (families, peers, teachers) related to engagement Focuses on increasing engagement and school completion for all students Emphasizes multidimensional approaches to disengagement
The Special Education Toolbox by
"This book is a practical reference guide that provides the most up-to-date information, real-world examples, and resources to guide those who work and live with our struggling students"--
Clinician's Toolkit for Children's Behavioral Health by
Clinician's Toolkit for Children's Behavioral Health provides a wealth of clinical tools, best practices, and research-based recommendations on the behavioral health of children. Based on the current perspectives on behaviorism, social-cognitive theory and attachment theory, the book reviews the evidence-base on developmentally appropriate methods to promote and reinforce positive, prosocial behaviors in children. Each chapter covers the most recent evidence base on normal and atypical development treatment parameters, best practices, and how to most effectively address issues with families, providing guidance on verbal or physical aggression, punishment spirals, and other ineffective or potentially harmful methods. Evidence-based best practices are outlined for addressing bedtime problems, toilet training, bullying behavior and victimization, the relationship between somatic complaints, anxiety, and school refusal, problematic use of screen media, and more. Provides a wealth of clinical guidance on treating behavioral problems in children Addresses toilet training, bullying, aggressive behavior, sexual behavior, and more Outlines how to deliver parent-focused education and interventions Reviews best practices in interviewing about, and reporting on, child maltreatment Looks at teaching methods, learning settings and children's academic/social outcomes
Acting out! : avoid behavior chChallenges with active learning games and activities by 
The Clinician's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder by
The Clinician's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder: Symptoms, Assessment, and Treatment uniquely focuses on practical strategies for assessing and treating Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD) in youth. After briefly reviewing clinical characteristics of ODD and known causal factors, the book reviews brief and easily administered assessment measures of ODD. It further describes efficacious treatment elements across different treatment protocols that can be personalized for young children, older children, and/or adolescents that are based on unique clinical and family characteristics. Assessment and treatment tips for addressing commonly co-occurring problems, such as difficulties with toilet training, lying, problems with peers, and aggression are included. Finally, the book includes practical tools, such as therapeutic handouts, sample rating forms, and psychoeducational materials for parents and clinicians, along with links to online materials for ease of use in applied clinical settings. Provides cutting-edge clinical insights on the etiology, assessment and treatment of ODD Outlines the symptoms of ODD and their links to the development of other disorders Reviews heritable and environmental causes of ODD Describes efficacious treatment elements, such as differential attention and time out Provides guidelines for associated problems, such as bedwetting and lying Includes in-text and online materials for applied use in assessment and treatment
