LibGuides: CI 742: Introduction to Teaching Strategies for Students with Severe/Multiple Disabilities: Journals

Journals with a focus on special education

This is a selection of peer-reviewed journals that publish on topics related to special education. The journals are available through multiple library databases, so you may come across them in your research, but these links will bring you to the E-Journal Portal record for the journal, where you can see which databases offer the most current coverage of the journal.

Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities
Publishes research into the theory and methodology of teaching students with severe developmental disabilities.
Education Special Interest Section quarterly
Provides academicians, aspiring faculty, fieldwork supervisors, clinicians, and students opportunities to discuss the many issues involved in occupational therapy education.
Exceptional Children
Features articles on critical and controversial issues in special education, as well as credible articles on research and developments in the field.
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Covers experimental research about applications of the experimental analysis of behavior to problems of social importance.
Journal of special education technology
Features articles on theory and research in the applications of computer-assisted instruction in special education.
The Journal of the International Association of Special Education
Seeks to promote the professional exchange among special educators worldwide, and to develop special education as a discipline and profession.
Remedial and Special Education
Features articles on all topics in the field, bridging the gap between theory and practice. Two special issues each year provide in-depth coverage of a single topic.
Rural Special Education Quarterly
Provides a forum for presentation of research findings, description of program models or practices, analysis of local, state, and national policies, and discussion of issues and trends for education and related services personnel working in rural communities.
Teacher Education and Special Education Journal
Contains reports of original research, evaluations of personnel preparation programs or components thereof, and theoretically based discussions of personnel preparation practices.
Teaching Exceptional Children
Designed specifically for teachers and administrators of children with disabilities and children who are gifted.
Topics in early childhood special education
Presents comprehensive discussion of timely and important issues in the field of early childhood special education.