LibGuides: ENGL 700: Introduction to Graduate Studies: Research

Research Resources

Literature and Language Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. 5 simultaneous users Terms of Use
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

Humanities and Multi-Disciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database includes abstracts and full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. Coverage dates: 1984+
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.

WSU Online Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held by WSU Libraries.

WorldCat
Search through library catalogs across the world to discover books not owned by WSU Libraries which you can acquire through Interlibrary Loan.

Library of Congress call numbers for English include:

P - Philology and Linguistics
PE - English Language
PN - Literary History and Collections
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature

Books and journals in this call number range can be found on the second floor of Ablah Library.

Click here for a detailed outline of this call number section.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Below is a selection of subject headings useful for literary studies, but is by no means exhaustive. When searching in the Library Catalog, keep a note of the subject headings for any relevant works and use those terms to further your search.

American literature--History and criticism
Criticism

Emotions in Literature

English Literature

Feminist literary criticism

Folklore--United States
Literature

Literature and Folklore

Literature and Society

Literature--History and Criticism

Literature--Philosophy

Satire--History and criticism

Below are selected Primary Source databases of interested to English and Literature Studies, but WSU LIbraries has many more.

To find them go to Online Primary Sources for Literature or Historical Newspapers and/or Periodicals

British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British Literary Manuscripts Online is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors. It contains poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections, reproduced in facsimile and searchable via detailed descriptive information.
Terms of Use
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English, making digital copies of over 125,000 rare works from before 1700 discoverable through an interface tailored for early modern scholars. Terms of Use
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Terms of Use
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes: Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Series I & II Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819; and Series I & II Supplements from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1819.
Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century.
Subjects include economics and trade, government, health, historic events, labor, languages, law and crime, literature, military, peoples, philosophy, politics, religion, science and technology, society, manners and customs, and theology.

WSU Libraries' Special Collections & University Archives
WSU Libraries' Special Collections & University Archives has a number of digital collections, manuscripts, maps, rare books, and more. They are a great resources for university and local history.
Click here for the Digital Collections