This is GPO's new website that has recently replaced the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website. GovInfo provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
The Donald E. Pray Law Library, College of Law at the University of Oklahoma is now a Digital Access Partner for their digitized versions of Native American and Alaskan Native documents contained in volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1817-1899. These documents contain contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information.
Requires the user to create a login. The site has scans of: USDOT Advisory Circulars, CAA and FAA Reports, Civil Aeronautics Manuals, Civil Aeronautics Regulations, Federal Aviation Regulations, Historic Cab/Dot Orders, Investigations of Aircraft Accidents 1934 - 1965, Investigations of Railroad Accidents 1911 - 1993, National Conferences on Street and Highway Safety Papers By H.S. Fairbank - Frank Turner - T.H. Macdonald, US Coast Guard Circulars
Description from Government Attic: governmentattic.org provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. Fascinating historical documents, reports on items in the news, oddities and fun stuff and government bloopers, they're all here. Think of browsing this site as rummaging through the Government's Attic -- hence our name.
Browse through a list of over 100 Kansas government agency collections of digitally born and published materials. View materials in full text online. Agencies range from the Kansas Department of Aging and Disability Services to the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism.
This 128 volume set known as the "OR" is a reference on Civil War operations and eyewitness accounts. This set is available in print on the 3rd floor with call number E464.U6 with the general collection. This linked online version is searchable.
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them. Unmatched in its scope, this book covers such key topics as the history of government information, from its colorful beginnings to the era of Wikileaks, Edward Snowden, and data breaches; how to think like a government documents librarian in order to find information efficiently, plus other research tips; all types of law resources and information, including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations; Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set; patents, trademarks, and intellectual property; census data, educational information, and other statistical resources; health information, with an in-depth look at the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the trend toward and impact of online medical records; and science, environmental, and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy. Exercises throughout the text support instruction, while the approachable and well-organized style make it ideal for day-to-day reference use.
Discover the depth of government information and services available online.The United States Government Internet Directory serves as a guide to the changing landscape of government information online. The Directory is an indispensable guidebook for anyone who is looking for official U.S. government resources on the Web. The U.S. government's online information is massive and can be difficult to locate. Many government sites are part of the "Deep Web" with content that does not surface or surface easily with even the most popular search engines. It is more important than ever to have a source that serves as an authoritative guide to the federal Web. The United States Government Internet Directory navigates the maze of data and locate the materials that you seek.The subject-based approach of this book allows you to browse for relevant sites in your field of interest rather than sift through hundreds of search results or try to guess which federal agency to consult.
This handbook will show users how to do legal research in the wider and sometimes confusing world of government documents, and is organized intuitively to help the novice. Because many government documents are available freely online, this book is designed to be used in tandem with Internet resources. It can be used as a quick reference tool to navigate the citation formats and unique government information portals, to aid in understanding the material, to find related non-government resources, and to answer some subject-based questions about the availability of government documents. Appendixes cover often-used document numbers and citations, an explanation of the Freedom of Information Act and how to use it to find government documents, and further information and training resources.--Publisher.
Specifically focusing on the resources on federal government available online, this book supports the education of young citizens and supplies directions for conducting programs for youth on the government. * Introduces librarians to a vast range of no-cost resources that can be added to their services repertoire, including reference, programming, and displays * Helps librarians educate young citizens about their government and how it works * Supports teachers and homeschoolers in K-12 education with a breadth of government resources applicable to a variety of subject matter that is linked to national standards