LibGuides: REL 311C: The Bible and Ancient Near Eastern Religion: Media

Images

Archaeology Image Bank
Free resource created by the Higher Education Academy by the Archaeology Data Service in the UK that allows users to locate and share high quality aarchaeological images.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Outstanding archives of images drawn from collections at museums and art galleries throughout the world compiled by the Bridgeman Art Library. Access through Credo Reference.
Credo Reference
Click on "Image Search' and type in search term(s).
Images of Anthropology
Photography of Contemporary and Ancient World Cultures. Stock photography related to anthropology and archaeology.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections. Terms and conditions for using images on this site are found at http://www.nypl.org/help/about-nypl/legal-notices/website-terms-and-conditions

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work -- Oxford Dictionary of Art (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art). Covers all visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology--Collections Online
Allows users to search for items in the museum's collection -- with over 300,000 images. Collections are strongest in the cultures of North, Central, and South America, and the Oceania (Pacific Islands). For information on using images and other content on the website, go to http://www.peabody.harvard.edu/node/778.
Smithsonian Instituttion--Collections Search Center
Search over 7.81 million catalog records with 767,000 images, video and sound files, and other resources housed at the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. For information on using images and other content from the web site, go http://si.edu/termsofuse.
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology--Collections Database
Search the Penn Museum's digital collections including 329,000 object records representing 665,000 objects with 67,000 images. Collection strengths in Africa, Asia, Babylonia, Egypt, Europe, Greece and Rome, and Oceania. Information about using images found at http://www.penn.museum/collections/about.php.
VADS
Free art and design images for education including archaeological sites and artifacts.
WorldImages
Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project containing approximately 80,000 images. Global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Users are free to use images for non-profit educational purposes, but should give credit to the copyright holders.