When is Special Collections open? Due to construction during the 2023-24 academic year, access to Special Collections is limited. To discuss options, please contact us by email at specialcollections@wichita.edu.
Are class instructional sessions available? WSU faculty and staff interested in setting up class instructional sessions with Special Collections are encouraged to contact us by email.
Where is Special Collections? You'll find us on the lower level in Ablah Library. Due to ongoing construction, please contact us before stopping by.
Where may I park? Access information about parking on campus here.
May I check out materials from Special Collections? No. All items must be used in Special Collections' reading room. The items do not circulate; however, many have been digitized. Please view digital offerings at https://libraries.wichita.edu/sc/digital.
May I make copies of materials held by Special Collections? Staff in Special Collections will make copies of items for research use only if the items can withstand the stress of copying. Limited, controlled digital photography by patrons for research use only is allowed; however, photography of selected collections and/or materials is not allowed due to certain restrictions. Please inquire before taking photos. Read more about copies.
How are materials acquired? Special Collections adds materials through purchase by endowed funds and donations from alumni and friends.
Would Special Collections appraise my materials? IRS regulations prevent Special Collections from providing appraisals, valuations and/or authentications of any materials. These appraisal organizations provide searchable online databases of members who perform appraisals: American Society of Appraisers, https://www.appraisers.org/home; Appraisers Association of America, https://www.appraisersassociation.org/; and International Society of Appraisers, https://www.isa-appraisers.org/.
Do you have the syllabus from a course I once took? Special Collections does not have syllabi from courses taught at WSU, University of Wichita or Fairmount College. Researchers are welcome to consult in Special Collections printed copies of undergraduate course catalogs dating from 1895 to the present, and graduate catalogs from 1926 to the present. The WSU Libraries' institutional repository SOAR provides access to digital copies of WSU historical course catalogs (1964 to present) and selected University of Wichita course catalogs.
I work on campus and need assistance with records retention. Can you help me? Please consult the Records Retention Schedule. If you have other questions, please contact Special Collections.
Access to Special Collections is limited at this time due to construction. Please contact us with questions.
