Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013 Terms of Use
This collection includes Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Series I & II Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819; and Series I, II & III Supplements from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1819. Terms of Use
Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century. It is based on the bibliographies by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and has been expanded with holdings from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society. Terms of Use
Subjects include economics and trade, government, health, historic events, labor, languages, law and crime, literature, military, peoples, philosophy, politics, religion, science and technology, society, manners and customs, and theology.
Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Note: Access to this resource is provided through the generous support of the Betty Holmer and Leo O. and Maud Swaim Morgan families. Terms of Use
Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features over 300 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Terms of Use
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more. Terms of Use
This link opens in a new window
