Skip to main content

PHYS 761: Environmental Physics

This guide contains resources to accompany study and research in PHYS 761: Environmental Physics

APA Style Manual & Guides

APA is the acronym for the American Psychological Association. This style manual is often used for research work in sciences and social sciences.

 
 The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University has an excellent webpage that provides lots of information and examples to help you with APA style as you cite your journal articles and create you reference list.
 
Here are some other websites that might also be useful:
  • APA Style CentralAPA Style CENTRAL has been developed for academic institutions by the American Psychological Association, the creator of and authority on APA Style, and features full integration of the APA's best-selling and widely adoptedPublication Manual of the American Psychological Association®
  • ‚ÄčCiting Information -- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries
  • Cite Source -APA (a product of Trinity College - Hartford, Connecticut) - This website offers a wealth of examples for the most commonly used types of references.

Citation Management Software

Citation management software allows you to organize and retrieve citations to books, articles, etc. from library databases. Once citations are captured, they can be stored and manipulated in mini-databases. Citations and footnotes can be inserted into word processing documents and stand-alone bibliographies saved in common word processing program formats.

There are several citation management programs available to WSU students, faculty, and staff including EndNote, Endnote Web, Zotero, and Mendeley.

EndNote is software program produced by ISI that helps you store and manage bibliographic references for your research projects and papers. It can format references and automatically create bibliographies using a variety of studles such as APA and MLA. All WSU students, faculty, and staff can download the EndNote software for free. It is available for both Windows PC and Mac platforms. Go to the EndNote library guide for more information. Click here for a handout on downloading and using EndNote. The web version is called EndNote Web. Click here for a handout on using EndNote Web.

Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for management citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies. Go to the Zotero library guide for more information. Tutorials and help are also available through the Zotero website.


Mendeley is a free, web-based took for managing reference, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizater. Tutorials and help are available through the Mendeley website.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers