Finding Reliable & Relevant Scholarly Articles - Scientific Databases at WSU - CHEM 666/809X: Biochemistry Special Topics

Finding Reliable & Relevant Scholarly Articles: Scientific Databases at WSU

Biochemistry and Science Databases through WSU Libraries
Expanded list of database subscriptions strong in Biological and Chemistry Science provided by WSU Libraries
Library Homepage (use the SmartSearch Advanced Search option)
WSU Libraries' Discovery Tool "SmartSearch" searches the libraries' ONLINE CATALOG, and many of the databases subscribed to (but not all!) - and is a good way to learn subject headings, keywords, and filter easily for content. It's a great place to start your research before plunging into discipline-specific databases.
A-Z Database List (Databases by subject, etc.)
SciFinder
Provides citations to worldwide journal literature in chemical and biomedical sciences. Contains the structure and property information for over 25 million substances. Includes reaction searching. Coverage: 1907-present. Restricted to current WSU students, faculty, and staff.

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Databases in the SciTech Premium Collection include: Agricultural & Enviornmental Science Database (1946-Present), Biological Science Database (1946-Present), and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (1950-Present), Medline (1946-Present), Materials Science & Engineering Database (1965-Present), and Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (1962-Present). Terms of Use
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.

MEDLINE (Proquest)
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Not searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 5,300 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains records dating back to 1937. It covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. 30 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

PubMed
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.
PubMed Tutorials
The following are brief animated tutorials with audio for using PubMed. See box at left for using MeSH (authoritative Medical Subject Headings) for greater accuracy when searching PubMed.