|
Welcome to the course guide for SPAN 300: Intermediate Spanish Readings This guide includes resources that will assist you in completing your class assignments and research. Most of these resources are available online; however, only WSU students, staff and faculty may access resources with the |
Sevilla Spain Andalusia - Image by Julian Hacker from Pixabay |
Visit the Music and Languages Innovation Center (MALIC)!
Located in Jardine Hall, room 313, the Center houses both the Savaiano-Cress Language Lab and the Thurlow Lieurance Music Library. The Language Lab provides technical assistance for language study, a reference collection of international language dictionaries, as well as audio and video resources held in the University Libraries. It's also a wonderful place for study between classes.
Summer 2023 (May 15- August 20):
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.* **
Fridays: 9:00 a.m. -1:00 p.m.
Closed Weekends
* Closed Monday 29, for Memorial Day
** Closed Monday and Tuesday July 3 and 4, in celebration of Independence Day.
For more information, contact the Music and Languages Innovation Center (MALIC) at: 316-978-3029
To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries' online catalog at: https://libcat.wichita.edu/
WSU undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty and staff are all invited to attend Savvy Scholar workshops. Workshops will all be held in Zoom, unless otherwise indicated in the description. Registration is required to receive the Zoom link. Your Shocker email account is required to register. Non-WSU persons must contact angela.paul@wichita.edu to register. Registration may be denied to non-WSU persons.
If you are Deaf/HoH, and would like to participate in this workshop, please contact Kathy Stewart at least 7 days before the workshop takes place, and there will be an interpreter present in the meeting for you.
See the pages listed in the left column for more information about each topic, including any handouts and digital presentations that might be used in the workshop. (Page titles might not be exactly like the workshop title; the list is alphabetized.) Click on the date/time link below to RSVP for each event.
Schedule Handout
Introduction to Academic Research
Identify the best sources for different topics, explore various library databases, and practice basic search strategies.
Writing an Awesome Literature Review
Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.
Going Deep into Databases
Take a deep dive into database tools like setting filters and using wildcards to help you quickly and efficiently locate articles.
Opposing Viewpoints (presented by vendor)
Discover a wide range of sources offering different views for current events, economics, environmental issues, and more, all in Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints!
Introduction to Endnote
Learn to use EndNote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.
Uncovering Historical Newspapers
Uncover the past through newspapers! This workshop will give you the tools to find newspaper content that fits your research needs.
Discovering Demographic and Social Data
Unlock a wealth of demographic and social data to better understand demographic groups, large populations, and pressing social issues.
U. S. Census Bureau (presented by vendor using WebEx)
Explore tables, surveys, and data sets with a representative from U. S. Census Bureau.
Uncovering Historical Newspapers
Uncover the past through newspapers! This workshop will give you the tools to find newspaper content that fits your research needs.
Sage Research Methods (presented by vendor)
Explore the world of research! Learn to use the SRM project planner and methods map to create your own best original research.
EndNote Optimization Strategies
Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations, and sync multiple devices.
Introduction to EndNote
Learn to use EndNote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.
Going Deep into Databases
Take a deep dive into database tools like setting filters and using wildcards to help you quickly and efficiently locate articles.
Discovering Demographic and Social Data
Unlock a wealth of demographic and social data to better understand demographic groups, large populations, and pressing social issues.
EndNote Optimization Strategies
Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations, and sync multiple devices.
Writing an Awesome Literature Review
Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.
icon. If you need any further assistance, please contact your librarian, Rachel Crane by email at 