Finding Background Information - FYET 102A - FYS: Intro to Tech & Innov (multiple sections

Find background information

Cait Barron. (2013, Sept. 26). KSU Photojournalism Students. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/caitbarron/9976137326. Used under the Creative Commons License.

These Reference databases can help if you need to find some facts or background information on your topic.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides online access to engineering and science reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings and data.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Encyclopedia Britannica and Book of the Year articles. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text to dictionaries, reference books, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press in a broad range of subjects: general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and Business. 4 simultaneous users.

Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher

These databases are an excellent source for articles on all types of social and controversial issues. Different perspectives on the issues they cover are provided with topic overviews, pro/con viewpoints, court-case overviews, and more.

Opposing Viepoints

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.

News

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Terms of Use
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NexisUni, formerly LexisNexis Academic, Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.