LibGuides: FYED 102A Superheroes Go to School: Academic Databases and Journals

Open Access Journals related to comics studies

The Comics Grid
The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. The journal aims to make original contributions to the field of comics studies and to advance the appreciation of graphic narrative.
Image Text: Interdisciplinary Comics Studies
ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media. We are published by the English Department at the University of Florida with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
Image & Narrative
Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology in the broadest sense of the term. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. By virtue of their appearance in this open access journal, articles are free to use, with proper attribution, in educational and other non-commercial settings.

Databases

Comics database:

Underground & Independent Comic, Comix and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform. Includes Volume I and II. Terms of Use

Interdisciplinary databases

(Note: Wiley Online Library is a good database for articles about comics)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to articles in over 350 Blackwell and Wiley journals. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals in this package.
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use

Subject databases for Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use. (ProQuest)
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, books, and yearbooks in the field of education. Full text articles from hundreds of journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1996-present.
Terms of Use
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a selection of full-text academic journals, full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Terms of Use