Create Your Own Legacy Today - Give to the Libraries
Since the first basket of books was donated to the library in 1895, gifts have always been an important part of the Libraries’ growth and history. Gifts have helped the Libraries continue providing services and collections during harsh budgetary times. Gifts have also helped the Libraries provide enhancements to the facilities, services, and collections used by students and faculty of the University and the community at large. Your donation will continue this long tradition of giving and help the Libraries invest in the resources and services needed for students and faculty to be successful both today and tomorrow. Gifts, large or small, can be made in many forms, including one-time monetary contributions, annual contributions, gifts of endowment, gifts of personal holdings, and planned gifts.
Your support will benefit all who use the Libraries’ resources and is a rare opportunity to simultaneously help many people both at Wichita State University and in the community. Please help the Libraries invest in the future. Give today.
Monetary Gifts and Endowments
You may contact the Office of the Dean of University Libraries at (316) 978-5120 about making a gift to the Libraries. A gift of $50 or more could purchase a book in any subject you recommend. If you prefer, the subject may be chosen by the library staff. A gift of $100 or more could help purchase several books or a subscription to a journal. A gift of $1,000 permanently invested produces income that enables the library every year to add a number of volumes to its collection. A $10,000 named endowment could make very significant additions in books or journals, either in a field of study of particular interest to the donor or honoree or in a field selected by the library.
Another way to make a monetary gift to the WSU Libraries is by using the WSU Foundation's "Online Giving" form. Additional information about the WSU Foundation is found on their website.
Gifts of Books and Other Materials
Due to the greater reliance on online books and journals and the reallocation of space to create more collaborative and other learning spaces, the University Libraries take fewer gifts of books and other materials than in the past. Before bringing materials into the library, contact the Coordinator of Collection Development at (316) 978-5080 to discuss the possible donation. Any materials accepted by the library become its property. The library staff will determine whether the gift will be retained, where it will be shelved or located, and how it will be cataloged and circulated. Materials not added to the collection may be sold or donated to other libraries. In special cirumstances, gift bookplates may be placed in donated volumes at the request of the donor.
Acknowledgment of Gifts
All gifts from identified donors, both monetary and material in kind, will be acknowledged. Donors who intend to deduct the value of their gifts for income tax purposes are encouraged to create their own lists of donated items and contact their tax attorneys or their accountants.
Gifts to Special Collections
Special Collections and University Archives accept gifts of books, manuscripts, archives, and relevant artifacts as well as other materials related to the University or associated with designated collection interests. Contact the Curator of Special Collections, (316) 978-3590, for more information.
Federal laws do not allow the library to make appraisals. Donors are invited to consult the AB Bookman's Yearbook, which is held in the library, to find qualified appraisers in the region. Information about tax deductions for gifts may be found at http://www.irs.gov/publications/p561/ar02.html#d0e139
Tax forms for claiming gift deductions are available at:
The Library Associates of Wichita State University was established to help build support in the community for the WSU University Libraries. Each year the organization sponsors informative community programs and engages in activities designed to create public awareness. All persons interested in the Libraries are eligible for membership. Membership benefits include invitation to library special events and enhanced library privileges.
Categories of Membership
President’s Club $3,500
For more information call 316-978-3586. Membership form available here.