Gathering Reliable Information: Research & Reports - BIOL 662 - Virology

Virology News

The following sites seek to provide up-to-date information on world health, research, treatments and dynamics of diseases:

World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority on international health within the United Nations’ system.
Centers for Disease Control
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
ViralZone
ViralZone is a SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics web-resource for all viral genus and families, providing general molecular and epidemiological information, along with virion and genome figures. Each virus or family page gives an easy access to UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot viral protein entries.
Virus Particle Explorer
VirusWorld v2 - A new virus taxonomy database. VIPERdb is a web interface for exploring virus structures
We analyze PDB atomic coordinates and provide a collection of useful structure-derived data and web utilities. Whether you're a veteran virologist or a novice student, you can find resources for both research and learning.
Virus Pathogen Database
This project is funded by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIH / DHHS) under Contract No. HHSN272201400028C and is a collaboration between Northrop Grumman Health IT, J. Craig Venter Institute, and Vecna Technologies.
Wikipedia: Science Portal

Advanced Search in WSU Libraries SmartSearch
WSU Search Discovery Service - use this to access resources across the breadth and depth of WSU Libraries. Also learn to utilize filters for date, subject terms, disciplines, and types of resources.
Biological Sciences Databases through WSU Libraries
Expanded list of database subscriptions strong in Biological Sciences provided by WSU Libraries

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Databases in the SciTech Premium Collection include: Agricultural & Enviornmental Science Database (1946-Present), Biological Science Database (1946-Present), and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (1950-Present), Medline (1946-Present), Materials Science & Engineering Database (1965-Present), and Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (1962-Present). Terms of Use
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use

MEDLINE (Proquest)
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Not searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present.
PubMed
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.
PubMed Tutorials
The following are brief animated tutorials with audio for using PubMed. See box at left for using MeSH (authoritative Medical Subject Headings) for greater accuracy when searching PubMed.

BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Terms of Use

SciFinder
Provides citations to worldwide journal literature in chemical and biomedical sciences. Contains the structure and property information for over 25 million substances. Includes reaction searching. Coverage: 1907-present. Restricted to current WSU students, faculty, and staff.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.