Chinese

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.

Award-winning series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of literary biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of literary biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

Since 1784, when the American ship Empress of China arrived in Guangzhou, Chinese-American relations have experienced advances and setbacks. The past century saw America's rise to a world superpower, and in recent decades, China has increasingly asserted itself around the globe. As the Chinese economy rapidly expands, China assumes a more dominant position in world politics, and continued fruitful relations with the United States will be a primary concern for both nations in the twenty-first century.This encyclopedia contains more than 400 descriptive entries of important events, issues, personalities, controversies, treaties, agreements, organizations and alliances in the history of Sino-American relations. The work examines people and events from Chinese and American perspectives. Enhancing the entries are maps, a chronology, list of acronyms, and three appendices, offering lists of American chiefs on missions to China, Chinese chiefs on missions to the United States, and the correspondence of Wade-Giles to Pinyin.

This travel guide provides readers with everything they need to know for planning a trip to this unique country.

This Chinese-English dictionary of proverbs (yanyu) consists of approximately 4,000 Chinese proverbs alphabetically arranged by the first word(s) (ci) of the proverb according to the Hanyu Pinyin transcription and Chinese characters (standard simplified), followed by a literal (and when necessary also a figurative) English translation.

The A to Z of Chinese Theater is dedicated entirely to Chinese theater. The history of Chinese theater is told through a chronology, an introductory essay, and over 1,000 cross-referenced dictionary entries on performers, directors, producers, designers, actors, theaters, dynasties, and emperors. There are also entries on the many different theatrical traditions, the acting and staging techniques, and specifics on roles and costumes as well as a brief synopsis of major plays. This book is essential for anyone interested in Chinese Theater.

The heart of this book is a series of etymological lessons, in which approximately 2300 Chinese characters are classified according to 224 'primitives' upon which they are based.

This edition of the Oxford Concise English-Chinese Chinese-English Dictionary is an ideal tool for study, the dictionary now provides authoritative coverage of over 26,000 words and phrases from every major field of reference, including science and technology, in addition to core general vocabulary. Simplified and orthodox Chinese characters are used throughout the dictionary, and thousands of examples illustrate and expand on how and when a word can be used. Also including a guide to the most commonly used radicals and an additional key to the pronunciation of Chinese.

Featuring contributions from the world's most highly esteemed Asian philosophy scholars, this encyclopedia covers the complex and increasingly influential field of Chinese thought, from earliest recorded times to the present day. Including coverage on the subject previously unavailable to English speakers, the Encyclopedia sheds light on the extensive range of concepts, movements, philosophical works, and thinkers that populate the field. It includes a thorough survey of the history of Chinese philosophy; entries on all major thinkers from Confucius to Mou Zongsan; essential topics such as aesthetics, moral philosophy, philosophy of government, and philosophy of literature; surveys of Confucianism in all historical periods (Zhou, Han, Tang, and onward) and in key regions outside China; schools of thought such as Mohism, Legalism, and Chinese Buddhism; trends in contemporary Chinese philosophy, and more.

Modern Chinese literature has been flourishing for over a century, with varying degrees of intensity and energy at different junctures of history and points of locale. An integral part of world literature from the moment it was born, it has been in constant dialogue with its counterparts from the rest of the world. As it has been challenged and enriched by external influences, it has contributed to the wealth of literary culture of the entire world. In terms of themes and styles, modern Chinese literature is rich and varied; from the revolutionary to the pastoral, from romanticism to feminism, from modernism to post-modernism, critical realism, psychological realism, socialist realism, and magical realism. Indeed, it encompasses a full range of ideological and aesthetic concerns. Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature presents a broad perspective on the development and history of literature in modern China. It offers a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, literary and historical developments, trends, genres, and concepts that played a central role in the evolution of modern Chinese literature.

Contains over 300,000 words and phrases and 370,000 translations, including the contemporary vocabulary from computing, business, the media, and the arts, as well as tens of thousands of example phrases illustrating key points of construction and usage. Find here over 300 cultural notes giving essential information about many aspects of life and culture in the Chinese- and English-speaking worlds.

This is a user–friendly English to Chinese dictionary. A practical English–Chinese Pronouncing Dictionary contains more that 15,000 entries, providing the reader easy access to all the words needed for everyday Chinese language conversation. This concise volume provides both Mandarin Chinese and Cantonese romanizations and pronunciations along with the Chinese characters. This totally practical dictionary follows a clear four–column arrangement: 1) the English world, 2) the Chinese character(s) with Chinese phonetics, 3) romanization in Mandarin with tone signs, 4) romanizations in Cantonese with tone signs. The entries have been selected to provide the most comprehensive listing possible and to obviate the time–waisting device of cross referencing. Contains over 15,000 Entries. Complete conversation guide. Romanized Mandarin and Chinese. Simplified tone and sound indications. Numerical list of radicals. Nowhere else will the user find such a tool to learn Chinese that so effectively combines simplicity with such utility!