Automotive Engineering

All too often the digital revolution is depicted as a global nightmare: companies are shut down, jobs are cut, and the future is looking grim. Others try to take action and are bracing themselves for the giant disruption that is looming around the corner. In his thought-provoking book, Thierry Geerts proposes to replace the word 'disruption' with 'reinvention'. Take the car, for instance. The way we have been driving around for the past 50 years no longer has a future: we are constantly stuck in traffic, thousands of people die each year as a result of road traffic accidents, and cars are major contributors to air pollution. Electric, self-driving cars offer a safer and more efficient solution. People can share them and park outside the city. Perhaps we don't even need a car of our own anymore? This book is a wake-up call. Europe has been at the forefront of the industrial and the computer revolution, so what stops us from becoming the capital of Digitalis? AUTHOR: Thierry Geerts has been the director of Google Belgium and Luxembourg since 2011. He graduated as a commercial engineer from the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management. He previously worked as a strategy director for the Belgian media group Corelio. SELLING POINTS: * Thierry Geerts makes a plea for the so-called knowledge society in response to the negative media coverage * The digital revolution both enables and forces us to reinvent the world we live in * Europe is in urgent need of ambitious and inspiring projects if it wants to catch the digital train

An essential all-in-one introduction, Ethics for Engineers provides in-depth coverage of major ethical theories, professional codes of ethics, and case studies in a single volume. Incorporating numerous practical examples and about 100 review questions, it helps students better understand and address ethical issues that they may face in their future careers. Topics covered include whistle-blowing, the problem of many hands, gifts, bribes, conflicts of interest, engineering and environmental ethics, privacy and computer ethics, ethical technology assessment, and the ethics of cost-benefit analysis and risk and uncertainty.

We have grown accustomed to two beliefs: first, that only experts can be designers, and second, that our everyday activities are harming the planet. Yet, by bringing together digital communication and engaged online communities, products can be designed by anyone for the social and environmental good.From a playground-powered water pump in South Africa to a DIY cellphone, Futurekind showcases design projects--across every scale, budget, and material--that have made a genuine difference in individual lives and in communities around the world. Each of these groundbreaking projects is presented through fascinating and life-affirming narratives, and reveal how design practice is being transformed by crowd-sourcing and the latest digital technologies that enable people to actualize ideas together.Vivid photography celebrates the humanity of the endeavor and the mechanisms and motivations behind each design approach. Both manual and manifesto, inspiration and call to arms, this rich and timely survey tells the true stories of world-changing collaborations between designers and communities, providing hope for humankind.

Everyone knows that engineers must be good at math, but many students fail to realize just how much writing engineering involves: reports, memos, presentations, specifications--all fall within the purview of a practicing engineer, and all require a polished clarity that does not happen by accident. A Guide to Writing as an Engineer provides essential guidance toward this critical skill, with practical examples, expert discussion, and real-world models that illustrate the techniques engineers use every day. Now in its Fifth Edition, this invaluable guide has been updated to reflect the most current standards of the field, and leverage the eText format to provide interactive examples, Engineering Communication Challenges, self-quizzes, and other learning tools. Students build a more versatile skill set by applying core communication techniques to a variety of situations professional engineers encounter, equipping them with the knowledge and perspective they need to succeed in any workplace. Although suitable for first-year undergraduate students, this book offers insight and reference for every stage of a young engineer's career.

From abstracts to online professional profiles, from blogs and forums to formal reports and manuals, the Handbook of Technical Writing uses smart, accessible language to spotlight and clarify technical writing today. Hundreds of topic entries, 90+ sample documents, at-a-glance checklists, and clear, explicit models, communicate the real-world practices of successful technical writers. Developed by a legendary author team with decades of combined academic and professional experience, the book's intuitive, alphabetical organization makes it easy to navigate its extensive coverage of grammar, usage, and style. Plus, updated, in-depth treatment of pressing issues like the job search, audience awareness, source documentation, and social media use on the job resonate both in class and at the office. With a refreshed, integrated focus on the ways technologies shape writing, the Twelfth Edition of the Handbook is the indispensable reference tool for writing successfully in the workplace.

Writing in the Technical Fields is a concise and straightforward guide that introduces students to the practical elements of technical writing. Using clear language, logical principles, and easy-to-follow rules, Ewald teaches students how to approach a wide range of fundamental concepts--including planning and editing documents, collaborative writing, and delivering engaging presentations. Taking the fear and mystery out of the writing process, this practical guide helps students develop the skill and confidence they need to succeed as effective writers and communicators in the workplace.