Principles of Human Geography (GEOG 125)

Containing over 3,100 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most authoritative single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, anddevelopment. Worked examples and diagrams are provided for many entries, including 15 new illustrations.All existing entries have been fully revised and updated for this new edition, and there is now expanded coverage of Geographical Information Systems (GIS), and glacial geomorphology, as well as the inclusion of more international examples within definitions, broadening its coverage considerably.The dictionary includes more than 400 new entries, including economies of scope, marginalization, rurality, and tax havens and offshore financial centres. Recommended web links are suggested for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Geography companion website.Packed with clear, concise, and authoritative information, this A-Z reference is an essential companion for all students and teachers of geography.

From terrorism to social inequality and from health care to environmental issues, social problems affect us all. The Encyclopedia will offer an interdisciplinary perspective into these and many other social problems that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level.

Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures comprises an extensive overhaul of the original ""Encyclopedia of the World's Nations"". It provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. This edition includes articles on three additional countries and 14 new sections on culture and society with each entry. Both the text and the extensive statistical data have been fully updated. New coverage includes: East Timor; Marshall Islands; and The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture; Entertainment and recreation; Etiquette; Family life; Flora and fauna; Folklore and mythology; Food; Health; A list of modern rulers; Living conditions; Personal appearance; Science and technology; Sports; and Work.