Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more. Terms of Use
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013 Terms of Use
Provides primary, unpublished archival documents presented as topically-focused digital collections of historical documents which cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. The collections included are: Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project and Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 Terms of Use
This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Terms of Use
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Digital facsimile images of full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each issue is captured cover-to-cover with access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Alternate title: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Terms of Use
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-three years ago. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. Terms of Use
Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features over 300 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Terms of Use
From the Library of Congress. Browse by topic area (e.g. slave narratives) or time period (e.g. 1400-1699). Documents include maps, books, archival manuscripts, and more.
Offers permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
This link opens in a new window
