LibGuides: SPAN 611: Survey of Spanish Modern Literature: Library Research Strategies

What is a Library Database?

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Find background information

Cait Barron. (2013, Sept. 26). KSU Photojournalism Students. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/caitbarron/9976137326. Used under the Creative Commons License.

These Reference databases can help if you need to find some facts or background information on your topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Encyclopedia Britannica and Book of the Year articles. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text to dictionaries, reference books, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press in a broad range of subjects: general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and Business. 4 simultaneous users.

Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher

These databases are an excellent source for articles on all types of social and controversial issues. Different perspectives on the issues they cover are provided with topic overviews, pro/con viewpoints, court-case overviews, and more. If you're not sure about your topic, you can browse through a list of current topics and issues to help give you ideas.

Opposing Viepoints

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.

WSU Libraries has a number of print books from both the Opposing Viewpoints series and the Taking Sides series that can assist you in determining topics for a persuasive or informative speech. Search "opposing viewpoints" or "taking sides" in SmartSearch (on the Finding Books & Articles tab to the left).

Things to Consider When Reading a Research Article

Consider the following points when reading a scholarly article:

Know your research question or argument. Though your question/argument may change or evolve as you delve deeper into the research process, you will want to have a solid idea of your research focus.
You don't have to read the entire article in order. Start with the abstract which will give you a general summary of the article. If the abstract seems relevant then move to the conclusion or discussion section of the article to gain a better understanding of the article's main claims. At this point if the article does not seem relevant or useful then discard it. However, if the article does seem useful then spend as much time as necessary reading the article.
Read critically. What is the author's argument? You will need to use your judgment when evaluating each source of information. Further research may be necessary if you find the author to be biased or you do not believe the validity of their argument.
Read the reference section. Reading the references or works cited may lead you to other useful resources. You might also get a better understanding of the major players in the area you are researching.
Take notes. How you do this is up to you. Make sure you keep your research question and argument in mind so you can be more efficient when taking notes.
Created by Rachel Arteaga, CSU Chico: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/c.php?g=462359&p=3163509