The Geological Society of America is one of the primary professional organizations for geoscience researchers. The organization publishers books and journals and hosts regional and national conferences. Abstracts from these conferences are available on the GSA website and via GeoRef.
Citation management software allows you to organize and retrieve citations to books, articles, etc. from library databases. Once citations are captured, they can be stored and manipulated in mini-databases. Citations and footnotes can be inserted into word processing documents and stand-alone bibliographies saved in common word processing program formats. There are several citation management programs available to WSU students, faculty, and staff including EndNote, Endnote Web, Zotero, and Mendeley.
EndNote is software program from Clarivate that allows you to store and manage bibliographic references for your research projects and papers. It can format references and automatically create bibliographies using a variety of styles such as APA, Chicago, and MLA. All WSU students, faculty, and staff can download the EndNote software for free. It is available for both Windows PC and Mac platforms. Go to the EndNote library guide for more information. Click here for a handout on downloading and using EndNote.
The web version is called EndNote Web. Click here for a handout on using EndNote Web.
Mendeley is a free, web-based took for managing reference, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizer. Tutorials and help are available through the Mendeley website.
Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for management citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies. Go to the Zotero library guide for more information. Tutorials and help are also available through the Zotero website.