Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Post-Masters DNP

Guide for the Post-Masters DNP students.

Databases of Interest

But where do you start?


If you are doing an exploratory in terms of your topic, start with SmartSearch.  SmartSearch will search through everything that the University Libraries subscribe to.  Once you have narrowed down your topic, then consider going to a more specific database.  Each database will have areas of strength and weakness.  For instance, MedLine searches everything out there that exists but doesn't cover the things that the WSU University Libraries actually subscribe to so you will more than likely find yourself neededing interlibrary loan material - which is not a big deal but it does add time to your search/research process.  Another example is CINAHL Complete.  We just upgraded to the Complete package and now have access to 5300 full text journals, but this was not the case a year ago.  In short, read the description under each database link to get a better idea of what is covered in terms of width and breadth. 

Legend

Icon = WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only

Icon = Available to everyone

full text = Full text

some full text = Some full text

abstract / citation = Abstract / Citation

index = Index

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers