LibGuides: CLES 822: Assessment in Counseling: PsycINFO

Introduction

PsycINFO is the major index to research in Psychology and related fields. You can use PsycINFO to:

find reviews of tests
find copies of test instruments

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Terms of Use

Finding test reviews -- Method 1

This method searches for the name of the test in the title of the journal article. When the name of the test appears in the article title, that's a good sign that the test is a focus of the article. Search for the words validity or reliability in the subject words (SU Subjects) that are added to each article description. Other good search terms to try here include review or psychometrics. Be sure to check the box to retrieve Peer Reviewed journal articles only:

Finding test reviews -- Method 2

This method searches for the name of the test in a section of the article description that includes names of tests mentioned in the article:

Finding test reviews -- Method 3

This method searches for the name of the test in all sections of the article description, and is useful when you are having trouble locating articles:

Finding copies of test instruments

This method searches for articles that include a copy of an instrument as an appendix to the article:

Accessing the full text of articles

In your search results, you will run into several different options for accessing the full text of the articles:

Option 1: If there is a link to the pdf version of the article, simply click on the link, and the article will come to the screen.

Option 2: This option typically takes you to the html (single long page) version of the article. Look for a link to the pdf version somewhere on the html page.

Option 3: The full text of this article is not available in the database. Click on the green 360 Link to Full Text icon, and the computer will attempt to connect you to the article. If the WSU Library subscribes to the journal in electronic format, you will be connected to the article. If it does not, you will see other options for getting a copy of the article, such as requesting a copy through the Library's InterLibrary Loan service.