Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 509 Cultures of Ancient Mexico

Guide for Dr. Lisa Overholtzer's class.

Searching Tips

1. To locate an article in a scholarly journal, do a keyword or subject heading search in one of the databases listed on this web site. Remember to limit by "scholarly journals". Examples of keyword search statements:
               aztec culture
               aztec religio*
               maya* calendar

2. To locate an article in an anthropology encyclopedia, select one of the encyclopedias listed on the left and search by the topic.

3. To locate a book, do a search in the WSU Libraries Online Catalog. Examples of keyword search statements include:
               maya* 
               maya* temple*
               hopi antiquit*

4. Consider terms related to "archaeology" that could be used in a search on your topic, e.g. antiquities, ancient, excavations, prehistory.

5. Consider truncating terms in your search statement with an asterisk to find alternative endings/spellings. For example, "archaeolog*" will find "archaeology" and "archaeological".

Locating Full-Text

Once you have located an article record in one of the databases, you must then link to the full-text, if available.

If there is a PDF Full Text link, click on it to access the article. This is the preferred full-text link if there are multiple options. PDF full-text will give you all of the pagination and graphs, tables, etc. in the format of the original publication.

If there is an HTML Full Text link, click on it to access the article.

If there is a Linked Full Text link, click on it to access the article.

If none of the above links are provided, click on Find Full Text or 360 Link to Full Text tosee if we have it in full-text in another database or if we have it in print. If the article is not available in any format, click on Get Additional Resources related to this and then Request this item from other library Submit Request to access ILLiad, our online Interlibrary Loan system. Use your WSU ID and password to login to ILLiad.  First time users will need to fill out a short form with your contact information. It is very easy to request an article from a database -- the order form will be automatically populated with the article information from the database (title, author, etc.), and you will receive the article very quickly -- often within a couple of hours! We encourage you to use this wonderful service.

Getting Help

If you have any questions, please contact Cathy Moore-Jansen, Anthropology Librarian. (See left hand column of this page.) If I am not available, you may contact another librarian using any of the methods listed below:

  • Instant Message: Use the chat box on this page to send us a message
  • Call: (316) 978-3584
  • Text: (316) 453-6911
  • Email: Click here
  • Tech Help: Having trouble with Blackboard or your myWSU account? Call the Help Desk at (316) 978-4357.
Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers