Skip to main content

All About Ref Questions

Serial Solutions

Why does Serial Solutions show that the journal title is 1991-present when none of the databases have it indexed past 2008?

For example, Bilingual Review at http://libcat.wichita.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=1379043

Answer: This is a delayed publication journal. Serial Solutions tags journal with “present” for the most current issue available, which in this case is the v.29 no.2-3 2008/09 issue (as of October 2013).

SmartSearch

In addition to the online resources below, Oxford Music Online and Oxford Art Online may also not be included in the results. The following resources are available in the A-Z List but not included in SmartSearch as of 2015.

ArchiveGRID (OCLC)
Auto Repair Reference Center
Business Expert Press
Cambridge Structural database (WebCSD)
Clinical Pharmacology
Compustat
CRC Press
Dance in Video
Datazoa
Directory of Published Proceedings
Dissertations & Thesis @ WSU
Docuseek2
Encyclopedia Britannica
Europa World Year Book
Eventus
Films on Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library (access is via online catalog records in EDS)
Google Scholar
GSS (General Social Survey)
HathiTrust
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS)
ICPSR
Kanopy Streaming
Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years
Learning Express Library
Making of the Modern World
Mango
Music Online:  Listening Plus
National Academies Press
OCLC Electronic Books
OneClick Digital
Oxford Medicine
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
SAGE Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods dataset
SciFinder
Thomas Legislative
U.S. Census Bureau
UpToDate
VAST
WRDS
WorldCAT
3M Cloud Library

SmartSearch does not include some databases/online resources because they can overwhelm the list. After you run a search, use the list in the right column to add additional resources.

Typically, an additional resource will look like this:      Use the checkbox to select SBRNet.

A resources that is temporarily unavailable will look like this:      Notice the yellow warning symbol that indicates an error.

Some databases NOT listed in the first tab are also not searched in SmartSearch by default. The researcher needs to manually add some databases to incorporate them into the search. Look in the right column and use the check boxes to add databases to a search. This icon  indicates the database is temporarily unavailable to be searched within SmartSearch. 

Loading ...
Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers