The catalog includes current information and data such as bibliographies and databases, data sets, newspapers and journals, government reports, and organization sites. Resources are in English and/or one or more of 27 Asian languages.
The following websites are suitable for academic research in religious studies. Some are general, while others cover particular religions. Mouse over each link for a description of that website.
ARDA consists of compilations of quantitative and geographic data on religions worldwide, including Christian denominations and congregations in the United States. Reports and maps are available for each country, as well as for US states and localities; links, lists of sources, and updates are included.
Reference and research materials, including texts, images, maps, & statistical data, with bibliographies, indexes, and links to further resources. A major international collaborative project of numerous research institutions in the UK, US, and South Asia.
Introductory overview of cultures of Greece, Rome, Egypt, the ancient Near East, India, and China, as well as mediaeval Europe and the Islamic world. Includes selected primary texts and links to sites. Editor, Anthony F. Beavers, University of Evansville.
A site containing introductory articles on Buddhism, as well as an international list of contacts. FWBO describes itself as "an international network dedicated to communicating Buddhist truths in ways appropriate to the modern world."
A compilation of public-domain and copy-permitted historical texts, arranged by period and theme, edited by Dr. Paul Halsall. This resource also includes links to a number of other relevant Web sites and digital maps.
Maintained by a non-profit organization focused on the study of Islamic arts, this site currently includes bibliographies, chronologies, international directories of academic institutions and museums, images, and other resources.
This Columbia University site collects important electronic bibliographic and research resources relating to Middle Eastern and North African studies. It includes an extensive section on religion in the Middle East.
Provides full-text access to a broad range of scholarly journals published in France in the humanities and social sciences. Made available by the Ministere de l'education nationale, de l'enseignement superieur et de la recherche.
Digital images, extensive background information, and bibliographies, to accompany and supplement a Library of Congress exhibition on the Dead Sea scrolls. These ancient documents, from the library of the Qumran community, provide evidence -- while raising many questions -- about ancient Judaism as well as the roots of Christianity.
"Comprehensive guide to the Gods (Theoi), Spirits (Daimones) and Monsters (Theres) of ancient Greek mythology and religion." Includes family trees and maps relating to the mythology, a gallery of images from Greek and Roman art, and a bibliography.