French

This highly useful bilingual thesaurus is aimed at all English-speaking learners and users of French at intermediate and more advanced levels. It is arranged thematically, with extensive subdivisions into topic categories. Two alphabetical indexes of more than 8,000 words each, one listing English vocabulary and the other French, help readers find what they're looking for.

This wide-ranging guide to twentieth-century French thought reflects current research, including all of the major disciplines, such as philosophy, literary theory, sociology, linguistics, political thought, and theology. The Encyclopedia's approximately 240 entries fall into two categories: those on individuals (which make up the bulk of the book) and those on themes, concepts, and historical background. The entries on individuals provide a clear and informative account of a thinker's ideas, influence, and critical reception. As well, the articles emphasize the relationship between such ideas and the social, historical, and cultural life of modern France, and each includes a separate paragraph of biographical information, a list of selected works, and suggestions for further reading. The more thematic entries cover specific disciplines, such as anthropology, historiography, and psychology; theories, beliefs and methodologies, such as Catholicism, feminism, and Marxism; the arts; historical, political, social, and intellectual context; and other key subjects, such as freedom, language, media, and society.

This title represents seven years of compilation from the work of nearly two hundred world-renowned scholars in linguistics. The volume explores the structure, history and culture of 191 languages worldwide.

The French Revolution was a huge, brutal yet inspiring phenomenon that changed global political thinking and action, and its echoes resound even in the twenty-first century. It was an intensely complex mix of events, concepts, and individuals and this title is an invaluable aid to unraveling its complications. There are some 400 entries covering the main events, personalities, parties, ideologies, political ideas, philosophers, writers, artists, rebellions, and wars, as well as touching on colonial and international developments, the interaction of church and state, science, law reform, events in the provinces and overseas territories, and the reverberations in other European states.

The term "French theater" evokes most immediately the glories of the classical period and the peculiarities of the Theater of the Absurd. It has given us the works of Corneille, Racine, and Moliere. In the Romantic era there was Alexander Dumas and surrealist works of Alfred Jarry, and then the Theater of the Absurd erupted in rationalistic France with Samuel Beckett, Eugene Ionesco, and Jean-Paul Sartre. The Historical Dictionary of French Theater relates the history of the French theater through a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, trends, genres, concepts, and literary and historical developments that played a central role in the evolution of French theater.

Almost all of us know French literature, even if we don t know French, because it is probably the second largest and certainly the most translated into English. And, even if we don t read, we would have seen film and television versions (think Count of Monte-Cristo) and even a musical rendition (Les Mis). So this is a particularly interesting volume since it covers French literature from the earliest times to the present. It is also a particularly rich literature, espousing every genre from poetry, to novel, to biography, to drama, and adopting every style, including realism and surrealism, and expressing the views of all classes and political stands, with recently strong feminist and gay strains. Obviously, the core dictionary section includes among its panoply of often substantial and detailed entries, hundreds of authors, dozens of significant works, the various styles mentioned above and many others, events that have impacted literature such as the Dreyfus Affair and the Algerian War, and literary prizes. The chronology manages to cover about 1,200 years of literary output. And the introduction sets it all out neatly from one historical and literary period to the next. The bibliography, broken down by period and author, directs us to further reading in both French and English. "

The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French reveals the hidden cultural dimension of contemporary French, as used in the press, going beyond the limited and purely lexical approach of traditional bilingual dictionaries. Even foreign learners of French who possess a good level of French often have difficulty in fully understanding French articles, not because of any linguistic shortcomings on their part but because of their inadequate knowledge of the cultural references. This cultural dictionary of French provides the reader with clear and concise explanations of the crucial cultural dimension behind the most frequently used words and phrases found in the contemporary French press.

Rabelais and Montaigne, Moliere and Racine, Stendhal and Proust--the literature of France boasts a long and glorious tradition. In The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French, readers will have at their fingertips a trusted guide to this rich literary heritage. Written by an international team of experts, the Companion's 3,000 entries capture ten centuries of work produced in France and, more recently, in other French-speaking countries around the world. The volume highlights not only poets, novelists, and dramatists, but also historians, scientists, statesmen, and philosophers--providing a sweeping tour of French culture.

A dictionary of literary biography, covering Provencal poetry and the troubadours.

Essential French Grammar is a student-friendly French grammar designed to give learners a firm foundation on which to build a real understanding of both spoken and written French.

A Reference Grammar of French is a lively, wide-ranging and original handbook on the structure of the French language. It includes information on register, pronunciation, gender, number, foreign words (Latin, Arabic, English, Spanish, Italian), adjectives and past participles used as nouns, texting, word order, frequency of occurrence of words, and usage with all geographical names. Examples come not only from France, but also from Quebec, Belgium and Switzerland.

Characterized by full explanations and numerous examples, this is a clear, well-organized textbook of French grammar designed for advanced students of French language and literature.

Relates French grammatical terms to corresponding terms in English, covering verb conjugation, objects, modifiers, pronouns, prepositions, conjunctions, and gender.

Intended for people with an intermediate or advanced knowledge in French, this guide covers both formal and informal language. It provides explanations of major structures of French and points of grammar; examples to illustrate grammar and usage; tips on what can and what cannot be said; and organization, cross-referencing, and indexing.

Designed specifically for the language learner and for others requiring a description of informal French morphology and syntax.

The Oxford Paperback French Dictionary and Grammar is a handy reference to the French language. It has been designed to meet the needs of students at all levels, as well as the needs of tourists and business people. Offering extensive guidance to the meaning and use of over 50,000 words and phrases, and 70,000 translations, it also offers guidance for students on selecting the right translation for their needs. The Grammar section offers full and clear coverage of the construction of the language, including explanations of the differences between spoken and written French (with examples taken from everyday speech, newspapers, and magazines), and separate sections on word order, prepositions and their use, punctuation, and up-to-date information on colloquial and technical words.