LibGuides: Industry Research: Financial Ratios

Financial Ratios

Financial ratios are a common means of determining a company's performance and strength by comparing that company's ratios with those of the industry overall. The following resources provide financial ratios for industries. Each of these titles will cover different industries, include different companies in those industries, provide different data and ratios, and present the results differently. Use all resources to determine which ones best meet your needs.

Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios (KBR) provides online access to industry benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Users can choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for a company, then find ratios under "Company Financials" tab
Includes access to:
International Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US Earnings Estimates
International Earnings Estimates
Institutional Holdings
Insider Holdings
US Equity Pricing
International Equity Pricing
Unadjusted Pricing
North American Annual Reports
International Annual Reports
Equity Reports
Equity Reports Integrated Search
Economic Time Series

BizStats
Free industry statistics and financial ratios

Historical Ratios

Looking back at older data is a good way to discover trends over time. Try these sources to find ratios dating back several decades.

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For access to historical content from the print editions of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios dating back to 1979 use the Mergent Archives portal. Also included are Hoover's Archive and CRB Commodity Yearbook.

RMA Annual Statement Studies by Robert Morris Associates
Call Number: HF5686.C7 R65x
Publication Date: 1977 - Current
*Current year in first-floor reference area
Provides for each of 350 lines of business a common-size balance sheet and income statement based on the size of the business within its industry. Gives sixteen financial ratios for each line of business. The ratios are presented first by the size of the business and then by quartiles within that size.
Industry norms and key business ratios, one year. by Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services
Call Number: HD2771 .D86c
Publication Date: 1989 - 2016
Considers over 800 lines of business. Provides for each a common-size balance sheet and income statement, and typical financial statement figures. Also contains for each line of business fourteen key business ratios displayed in quartiles.
Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios by Leo Troy
Call Number: HF5681.R25 T68
Publication Date: 1997 - 2017
Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records.