LibGuides: COMM 510: Editing for Print: Library Resources

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use

Wichita Eagle
A link straight to the Wichita Eagle.

Journal / Magazine Article Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The best option for articles relating to journalism, mass media, and new media.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A great source for business news.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good multi-purpose database.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of accepted authority and guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Provides comprehensive etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings while tracing the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations.

Reports & Social Policy

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.

Reference Databases

Reference books can be a good option for verifying facts. The databases contain topics in all areas, including history, science, technology, and more. Try one of the databases below.

Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference