ANTH 103 Introduction to Archaeology

Free resource created by the Higher Education Academy by the Archaeology Data Service in the UK that allows users to locate and share high quality aarchaeological images.

Outstanding archives of images drawn from collections at museums and art galleries throughout the world compiled by the Bridgeman Art Library. Access through Credo Reference.

Click on "Image Search' and type in search term(s).

Photography of Contemporary and Ancient World Cultures. Stock photography related to anthropology and archaeology.

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections. Terms and conditions for using images on this site are found at http://www.nypl.org/help/about-nypl/legal-notices/website-terms-and-conditions

Allows users to search for items in the museum's collection -- with over 300,000 images. Collections are strongest in the cultures of North, Central, and South America, and the Oceania (Pacific Islands). For information on using images and other content on the website, go to http://www.peabody.harvard.edu/node/778.

Search over 7.81 million catalog records with 767,000 images, video and sound files, and other resources housed at the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. For information on using images and other content from the web site, go http://si.edu/termsofuse.

Search the Penn Museum's digital collections including 329,000 object records representing 665,000 objects with 67,000 images. Collection strengths in Africa, Asia, Babylonia, Egypt, Europe, Greece and Rome, and Oceania. Information about using images found at http://www.penn.museum/collections/about.php.

Free art and design images for education including archaeological sites and artifacts.

Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project containing approximately 80,000 images. Global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Users are free to use images for non-profit educational purposes, but should give credit to the copyright holders.

Browse ethnographic films from Ethnographic Video Online that are found in the video database, VAST.

Part of the Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI), an independent, nonprofit, research and education corporation in Oregon since 1999. Priority mission is to support The Archaeology Channel (films, news, commentary, interactive programs, etc.), partnering with film and program producers, and the development of authentic computer games

The remains of more than 10,000 Native Americans unearthed at archaeological sites across the U.S. are in the possession of museums such as the Smithsonian. Is the analysis of the bones valid scientific research, or is it a desecration of Native American culture? This program focuses on the tensions between scientists, historians, and museum curators and Native American groups, as the bones take on a central role in a war of alternate perspectives. In examining this debate, the program provides an excellent survey of Native American archaeology in the U.S. A BBC Production. (49 minutes)