Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biological Sciences

Recommended library resources in Biology.

Internet Sites

" "

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online resource of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

An interactive reference work covering animal species worldwide.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.

The most complete authoritative list of the world's species - maintained by hundreds of global taxonomists  

Contains animated and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms that are useful for education and medical research.

CSHL is a private, non-profit institution with research programs in cancer, neuroscience, plant biology, genomics, and bioinformatics and a broad educational mission. Links to a variety of research and education resources.

E-Print Network a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE

An interactive encyclopedia of life-forms worldwide.

Holds information on such current environmental research areas as: air science, climate change, ecosystems, health science, land and waste cleanup, pesticides, toxic substances, sustainable practices, and water science.

From the national Acadmies. Free access to books, reports, and additional resources on evolution education and research.

This website is a single launch point for searching multiple national and international sites in a variety of languages.

A searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world.

A compilation of the Internet Pubic Libary (IPL) and the Librarian's Internet Index (LII) websites, provides browsable, reliable subject-specific websites. here set to search for Internet sites focusing on Life Sciences.

Information hub for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Users can access articles, reports, bibliographies, and laws & regulations.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. These include historic collections of zoologies and related works and nature illustrated: flowers, plants and trees, covering years 1550-1900.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Hosted by the USDA.

Provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated to determine the relative risk of extinction, the main purpose of the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) Red List being to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction.

By Nature Publishing Group. Focuses on cell biology, including the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms. Scitable also offers resources for the student scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts, providing information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

Evaluating Sources Critically Tutorial

Welcome!

Whatever resources you use in your academic work, it is essential that you are able to evaluate its quality. In this tutorial, you will learn about key evaluation criteria that will help you quickly and accurately evaluate information.

After completing this guide, you will have practiced using core evaluative criteria commonly employed by academic researchers.

What you will learn

After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:

  • quickly analyze and critically evaluate information
     
  • identify specific areas to pay close attention to when analyzing a resource
     
  • build confidence in your ability to successfully evaluate your own research results

(simply click on the image below to begin!)

Evaluating Sources Critically Title Card

 

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers