LibGuides: ENGL 102: College English II: Finding Articles

Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use
Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts general periodicals with some full-text access. Focus on current events and curriculum support. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1994-present. Terms of Use

To get even more specific with your searching, you will want to use a disciplinary database such as ERIC (for education) or PsycINFO (for psychology). Using these databases individually will allow you to use advanced search features, specific to that subject, to find the most relevant articles. Use the "Subject" menu on the Databases A-Z list to find the best databases in your topic's discipline.

Databases A-Z

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.

Choosing the Right Keywords Tutorial

This tutorial will help you identify effective keywords to find the most relevant search results for your topic or research question. The strategies discussed in this tutorial can be applied to any database or search engine.

Click the image to begin