LibGuides: WSU 102 Every Body is Good!: Finding Resources

Information Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use

Wichita State University Libraries Online Catalog
Search for books, videos and other materials held by the Wichita State University Libraries.

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

Use Worldcat to find materials to borrow through interlibrary loan:

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos and more) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Selecting WSU custom page provides localized content from Wichita State University Libraries' collection.

Selected titles for additional background information:

Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body by Victoria Pitts-Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781567206913
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body contains essays exploring the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past, present and around the world, examining body parts through a multifaceted cultural lens.
Disability in American Life: an Encyclopedia of Concepts, Policies, and Controversies [2 Volumes] by Tamar Heller (Editor); Sarah Parker Harris (Editor); Carol Gill (Editor); Robert Gould (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781440834233
This reference work provides an overview of challenges and opportunities for people with disabilities and their families at all stages of life.
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by Susan Burch
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781438126722
Examines the issues, events, people, activism, laws, personal experiences, and social ramifications of disability throughout American history.
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance by Thomas F. Cash (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780123849250
This scholarly work examines human physical appearance--how people's outer physical characteristics and their inner perceptions and attitudes about their own appearance (body image) affect their lives.
Encyclopedia of Disability by Gary L. Albrecht (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780761925651
This is an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780028661957
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780684325545
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide by Chuck Stewart (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780313342325
This title provides an overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals.
Race and Racism in the United States by Charles A. Gallagher (Editor); Cameron D. Lippard (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781440803468
How is race defined and perceived in America today, and how do these definitions and perceptions compare to attitudes 100 years ago... or 200 years ago? In the 21st century, it is easy for some students and readers to believe that racism is a thing of the past; in reality, old wounds have yet to heal, and new forms of racism are taking shape. Racism has played a role in American society since the founding of the nation, in spite of the words "all men are created equal" within the Declaration of Independence. The entries here cover every facet of race relations in the United States
Routledge International Handbook of Contemporary Racisms by John Solomos (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781351047326
This title has a truly global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments. In terms of structure, the volume is organized into ten interlinked parts that include Theories and Histories, Contemporary Racisms in Global Perspective, Racism and the State, Racist Movements and Ideologies, Anti-Racisms, Racism and Nationalism, Intersections of Race and Gender, Racism, Culture and Religion, Methods of Studying Contemporary Racisms, and the End of Racism. These parts contain chapters that draw on original theoretical and empirical research to address the evolution and changing forms of contemporary racism. The Handbook is framed by a General Introduction and by short introductions to each part that provide an overview of key themes and concerns.

Wichita Eagle Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the Wichita Eagle from 1984 to present, Wichita Eagle images from 2018 to present and Wichita Eagle Blogs from 2005-present. Terms of Use
Gale Onefile: News (formerly InfoTrac Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database which allows searching of more than 1,000 newspapers by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
Terms of Use
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use

New York Times
Full-text access from 1980 to the present through the Wichita State University Libraries.
50States.com
Links ot U.S. newspapers
Newspapers.com
Newspapers from the 1700s–2000s; over 1800 newspapers across the US. Need subscription to access full-text. Historical in scope.

Wichita State University Libraries Catalog
Search for Online Videos and DVDs in the Library Catalog

Due to the pandemic, to check out DVDs, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/. Refer to the instructions below.

You may place requests for materials at any time and they will be paged every two hours during our hours of operation. We will notify you via email when your holds are ready. Please note that holds placed for items at the McKinley Chemistry Library and Thurlow Lieurance Music Library will take longer to retrieve.

To pick up your holds, please stop at the Circulation Desk in Ablah Library. Your materials will be held in a locker adjacent to the desk. Upon showing your Shocker ID card, Libraries staff will provide you the information needed to retrieve your materials. The process in place is designed to provide contactless checkout of your materials.

Note: If you are working or attending courses remotely and need to have materials mailed to you, contact Interlibrary Loan. We will mail items to you as needed. You are responsible for returning the items via mail.

Instructions for placing a hold using the Libraries' online catalog.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform for a multitude of subject areas: Gender, Race & Diversity; the Humanities; Business; Science; Health; the Arts; Teacher Education; and Communications. In addition to the videos the University Libraries has subscribed to, a preview of other videos are available.
Terms of Use
Flash is required to play the videos on a PC. Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.

The CAARP Test and PAUSE Evaluating Resources Checklist

Use this set of criteria to help you evaluate the quality of the information you find, in print and online.

CAARP	PAUSE
Currency	Purpose
Accuracy	Accuracy
Authority	Up-to-Date
Relevance	Suitable
Purpose	Expertise

The handouts below provide a more detailed description of the criteria used for evaluating information sources, including websites.

WSU 102 Every Body is Good!

Your Librarian

LibAnswers Chat

Information Resources

The CAARP Test and PAUSE Evaluating Resources Checklist