Below you will find a collection of ebook and print reference materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research by
Education has continued to grow in stature and significance as an academic discipline. In addition to world renowned research studies the growth of education has been seen in the methodology and methods underpinning its research. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice. Over two volumes, the handbook addresses educational research in six essential components: Section 1: Understanding Research Section 2: Planning Research Section 3: Approaches to Research Section 4: Acquiring Data Section 5: Analysing Data Section 6: Reporting, Disseminating and Evaluating Research Featuring contributions from more than 50 of the biggest names in the international field, The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research represents a very significant contribution to the development of education.
The Oxford handbook of the history of education by
This handbook offers a global view of the historical development of educational institutions, systems of schooling, ideas about education, and educational experiences. Its 36 chapters consider changing scholarship in the field, examine nationally-oriented works by comparing themes and approaches, lend international perspective on a range of issues in education, and provide suggestions for further research and analysis. Like many other subfields of historical analysis, the history of education has been deeply affected by global processes of social and political change, especially since the 1960s. The handbook weighs the influence of various interpretive perspectives, including revisionist viewpoints, taking particular note of changes in the past half century. Contributors consider how schooling and other educational experiences have been shaped by the larger social and political context, and how these influences have affected the experiences of students, their families and the educators who have worked with them. The Handbook provides insight and perspective on a wide range of topics, including pre-modern education, colonialism and anti-colonial struggles, indigenous education, minority issues in education, comparative, international, and transnational education, childhood education, non-formal and informal education, and a range of other issues. Each contribution includes endnotes and a bibliography for readers interested in further study.
The Sage encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation by
In an era of curricular changes and experiments and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation is more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, other entries discuss important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in choice of electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader’s Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. (For instance, sample themes include Data, Evaluation, Measurement Concepts & Issues, Research, Sociopolitical Issues, Standards.) Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries. The Index, Reader’s Guide themes, and Cross References will combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the e-version.
The SAGE encyclopedia of higher education by
With over 600 signed entries, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education demonstrates the impact higher education has had on global economies and universities across the world. Topics include: • students burdened with higher tuition fees • departments expected to produce courses and research that have clear and demonstrable social impact • what the university is and how it meets social and business requirements This encyclopedia touches on all aspects of higher education through: • key concepts • debates • approaches • schools of thought on higher education • role of universities As an interdisciplinary field, these volumes will prove to be an essential resource for students and researchers in education, sociology, politics and other related fields across the humanities and social science disciplines.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-Of-School Learning by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning documents what the best research has revealed about out-of-school learning: what facilitates or hampers it, where it takes place most effectively, how we can encourage it to develop talents and strengthen communities, and why it matters.Key features include: Approximately 260 articles organized A-to-Z in 2 volumes available in a choice of electronic or print formats Signed articles, specially commissioned for this work and authored by key figures in the field, conclude with Cross-References and Further Readings to guide students to the next step in a research journey Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas to make it easy for readers to spot additional relevant articles at a glance detailed Index, the Reader's Guide, and Cross-References combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version Resource Guide points to classic books, journals, and websites, including those of key associations This title will be available on SAGE Knowledge, the ultimate social sciences library
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment by
The research and debates surrounding curriculum, pedagogy and assessment are ever-growing and are of constant importance around the globe. With two volumes - containing chapters from highly respected researchers, whose work has been critical to understanding and building expertise in the field - The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment focuses on examining how curriculum is treated and developed, and its impact on pedagogy and assessment worldwide. The Handbook is organised into five thematic sections, considering: · The epistemology and methodology of curriculum · Curriculum and pedagogy · Curriculum subjects · Areas of the curriculum · Assessment and the curriculum · The curriculum and educational policy The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment's breadth and rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students around the world.
The SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research by
The new edition of The SAGE Handbook of E-Learning Research retains the original effort of the first edition by focusing on research while capturing the leading edge of e-learning development and practice. Chapters focus on areas of development in e-learning technology, theory, practice, pedagogy and method of analysis. Covering the full extent of e-learning can be a challenge as developments and new features appear daily. The editors of this book meet this challenge by including contributions from leading researchers in areas that have gained a sufficient critical mass to provide reliable results and practices. The 25 chapters are organised into six key areas: 1. THEORY 2. LITERACY & LEARNING 3. METHODS & PERSPECTIVES 4. PEDAGOGY & PRACTICE 5. BEYOND THE CLASSROOM 6. FUTURES
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Policy by
Recent authoritative evidence suggests that an estimated 200 million children under five fail to achieve their developmental potential due to factors including poor health and nutrition and the lack of stable high quality care. A significant number of the world's children today lack the basic rights to health, development and protection.In light of such statistics, early childhood services for young children have expanded around the world. The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Policy draws critical attention to policy in Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC) its relationship to service provision and its impact on the lives of children and families. The perspectives of leading academics and researchers from Europe, North America, South America, Africa, Australasia and Asia have been arranged around five key themes: Part 1: The Relationship Between Research, Policy And Practice: Country Case Studies Part 2: Equitable Early Childhood Services: Intervention to Improve Children's Life Chances Part 3: Extending Practice: The Role of Early Childhood Services In Family Support Part 4: Participation, Rights and Diversity Part 5: Future Directions for Early Childhood Policy This handbook is essential reading for practitioners, stakeholders and others committed to working within early years services to achieve an awareness of policy and its implications for services and practice.
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Research by
Recent decades have seen an upsurge of research with and about young children, their families and communities. The Handbook of Early Childhood Research will provide a landmark overview of the field of early childhood research and will set an agenda for early childhood research into the future. It includes 31 chapters provided by internationally recognized experts in early childhood research. The team of international contributors apply their expertise to conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy. The Handbook recognizes the main contexts of early childhood research: home and family contexts; out-of-home contexts such as services for young children and their families; and broader societal contexts of that evoke risk for young children. The Handbook includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research collecting and analysing data applications of early childhood research This Handbook will become the valuable reference text for students, practitioners and researchers from across the social sciences and beyond who are engaged in research with young children.
The SAGE Handbook of Research on Teacher Education by
The SAGE Handbook of Research on Teacher Education offers an ambitious and international overview of the current landscape of teacher education research, as well as the imagined futures. The two volumes are divided into sub-sections: Section One: Mapping the Landscape of Teacher EducationSection Two: Learning Teacher Identity in Teacher EducationSection Three: Learning Teacher Agency in Teacher EducationSection Four: Learning Moral & Ethical Responsibilities of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Five: Learning to Negotiate Social, Political, and Cultural Responsibilities of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Six: Learning through Pedagogies in Teacher EducationSection Seven: Learning the Contents of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Eight: Learning Professional Competencies in Teacher Education and throughout the CareerSection Nine: Learning with and from Assessments in Teacher EducationSection Ten: The Education and Learning of Teacher EducatorsSection Eleven: The Evolving Social and Political Contexts of Teacher EducationSection Twelve: A Reflective Turn This handbook is a landmark collection for all those interested in current research in teacher education and the possibilities for how research can influence future teacher education practices and policies. Watch handbook editors D. Jean Clandinin and Jukka Husu and handbook working editorial board members Jerry Rosiek, Mistilina Sato and Auli Toom discuss key aspects of the new handbook: https://www.youtube.com/watch'v=Yee8cZVakfc
Special Education - A Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development by
A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Updated through current events, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects-how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.
What We Know about Grading by
Grading is one of the most hotly debated topics in education, and grading practices themselves are largely based on tradition, instinct, or personal history or philosophy. But to be effective, grading policies and practices must be based on trustworthy research evidence. Enter this book: a review of 100-plus years of grading research that presents the broadest and most comprehensive summary of research on grading and reporting available to date, with clear takeaways for learning and teaching. Edited by Thomas R. Guskey and Susan M. Brookhart, this indispensable guide features thoughtful, thorough dives into the research from a distinguished team of scholars, geared to a broad range of stakeholders, including teachers, school leaders, policymakers, and researchers. Each chapter addresses a different area of grading research and describes how the major findings in that area might be leveraged to improve grading policy and practice. Ultimately, Guskey and Brookhart identify four themes emerging from the research that can guide these efforts: - Start with clear learning goals, - Focus on the feedback function of grades, - Limit the number of grade categories, and - Provide multiple grades that reflect product, process, and progress criteria. By distilling the vast body of research evidence into meaningful, actionable findings and strategies, this book is the jump-start all stakeholders need to build a better understanding of what works--and where to go from here.
Below you will find a collection of ebook and print reference materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
The Cambridge Handbook of Service Learning and Community Engagement by
With contributions from leading experts across disciplinary fields, this book explores best practices from the field's most notable researchers, as well as important historically based and politically focused challenges to a field whose impact has reached an important crossroads. The comprehensive and powerfully critical analysis considers the history of community engagement and service learning, best teaching practices and pedagogies, engagement across disciplines, and current research and policies - and contemplates the future of the field. The book will not only inform faculty, staff, and students on ways to improve their work, but also suggest a bigger social and political focus for programs intended to seriously establish democracy and social justice in their communities and campuses.
Classroom Assessment for Student Learning: Doing It Right - Using It Well by
Appropriate for courses in classroom assessment and as a stand-alone resource for teacher professional development in classroom assessment. Classroom Assessment for Student Learning helps readers gather accurate information about students' achievement and use the assessment process and its results effectively to improve achievement. This user-friendly guide is full of practical tips, activities, and real-world examples of what assessment for learning looks like in today's classrooms. The 3rd Edition continues to focus on five keys to quality classroom assessment, with an enhanced emphasis on the formative use of classroom assessment results. The keys help readers 1) establish a clear assessment purpose to meet the information needs of all intended users; 2) base instruction and assessment on clear learning targets; 3) design or select all assessments to meet standards of accuracy; 4) communicate summative and formative results effectively; and 5) involve students in the assessment process and in using results to further learning.
Classroom Management for Art, Music, and PE Teachers by
Teaching 400-600 students every week presents the ultimate classroom management challenge, one that if you're unprepared for can bury you in a mountain of stress and misbehavior. Classroom Management for Art, Music, and PE Teachers is a proven solution that will transform even the most difficult group of students into the peaceful, well-behaved class you really want. It provides the tools, tips, and strategies you need to simply and effectively manage any classroom, no matter how unruly or out of control, so you can focus on teaching, inspiring, and making an impact that lasts a lifetime.
Creating Inclusive Learning Opportunities in Higher Education by
In Creating Inclusive Learning Opportunities in Higher Education, Sheryl Burgstahler provides a practical, step-by-step guide for putting the principles of universal design into action. The book offers multiple ways to access, engage with, and transform the higher education environment: making physical spaces welcoming to students of all abilities; creating digital learning and assistive technology programs that meet the needs of all users; developing universal design in higher education (UDHE) syllabi, assessments and teaching practices that minimize the need for academic accommodations; and institutionalizing universal design supports and services. A follow-up to Universal Design in Higher Education, Burgstahler's new book will be a valuable resource for leaders, faculty, and administrators who are interested in acquiring the tools needed to create barrier-free learning environments. Filled with applications, examples, recommendations, and above all, a framework in which to conceptualize UDHE, this volume will help educators meet the design needs of all students and honor the principles of diversity and inclusivity.
Cultural Diversity and Education by
Now available in paperback, the sixth edition of this definitive text provides students a strong background in the conceptual, theoretical, and philosophical issues in multicultural education from a leading authority and scholarly leader of the field---James A. Banks. In the opening chapter author Banks presents his well-known and widely used concept of Dimensions of Multicultural Education to help build an understanding of how the various components of multicultural education are interrelated. He then provides an overview on preparing students to function as effective citizens in a global world; discusses the dimensions, history, and goals of multicultural education; presents the conceptual, philosophical, and research issues related to education and diversity; examines the issues involved in curriculum and teaching; looks at gender equity, disability, giftedness, and language diversity; and focuses on intergroup relations and principles for teaching and learning.　 　 This new edition incorporates new concepts, theories, research, and developments in the field of multicultural education and features: A new Chapter 5, "Increasing Student Academic Achievement: Paradigms and Explanations"　provides important explanations for the achievement gap and suggests ways that educators can work to close it. A new Chapter 7, "Researching Race, Culture, and Difference," explains the unique characteristics of multicultural research and how it differs from mainstream research in education and social science. A new Chapter 14, "Principles for Teaching and Learning in a Multicultural Society"　contains research-based guidelines for reforming teaching and the school in order to increase the academic achievement and social development of students from diverse racial, ethnic, cultural, language, and gender groups. A new Appendix--"Essential Principles Checklist"--designed to help educators determine the extent to which practices within their schools, colleges, and universities are consistent with the research-based findings described in the book.
Disability and the University by
Disability and the University: A Disabled Students' Manifesto is a guide to what students with disabilities need to know about attending university, as well as to the essentials universities should provide for these students. Each chapter presents a benchmark for students to follow as they travel through the institution, and lays clear what they should expect. Written by former students with disabilities who have traversed the terrain and experienced higher education, this book is not about disabled students, but instead is a manifesto, a call for change, a call to action. It is a guide book, blueprint, and tool for both students and universities. Disability and the University is divided into four parts, each examining crucial aspects of higher education, including the culture of the academy, movement beyond the limits of compliance, access to and in the institution, and disability rights. Each chapter is a statement of what every institution of higher education should provide for disabled students. While every country has its own practice and laws based on its own experience, arbitrary national boundaries should no longer be a reason for practices that do not meet student needs. Disability and the University speaks across borders, and leaves no doubt about what needs to be done to develop more inclusive teaching and learning spaces.
Small Changes, Big Impact by
Discover a pathway to improvement that is simple and field tested. Designed as a practical guide to school reform, this resource outlines a series of ten small-scale changes powerful enough to make a lasting impact in schools and districts. Within each chapter, you will find easy-to-implement strategies for strengthening culture, building relationships, and promoting student growth at every K-12 grade level. Use this resource to leverage student reflection and reperformance to ensure high levels of learning: Understand how to redefine student success as efficacy and ownership of learning. Gain research-based instructional strategies and teaching methods for creating student-centered mission statements that promote student success, self-reliance, and social-emotional learning (SEL). Explore how to use performance-based assessments as a process for learning. Examine the qualities of growth-based feedback to promote a future pathway for achievement. Obtain tools for developing dynamic reporting structures that communicate stories of learning and promote self-evaluation. Contents: Chapter 1: Redefine Student Success Chapter 2: Create Student-Centered Mission Statements Chapter 3: Organize the Curriculum Around Skills, Not Content Chapter 4: Develop Student-Centered Rubrics Chapter 5: Use Assessment as a Process for Learning Chapter 6: Implement a Generative Learning Model of Instruction Chapter 7: Provide Critical Growth-Based Feedback Chapter 8: Leverage Reflection and Reperformance Chapter 9: Use Evidence-Based Grading Practices Chapter 10: Establish Dynamic Reporting Structures
Syntheses of Higher Education Research by
As higher education has massified there has been a greater need for higher education research: to better understand and improve practice and provision. The expansion of higher education research has in turn led to systematic reviews and meta-analyses being carried out of areas of the field, so as to synthesise or summarise the qualitative and quantitative findings of this research. These systematic reviews and meta-analyses give an account of where we are now in higher education research. Malcolm Tight takes a global perspective, looking beyond Anglophone originating English Language publishing, particularly Africa, East and South Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, bringing together their findings to provide an accessible and practical overview. Bringing together over 96 systematic reviews and 62 meta-analyses focusing on particular topics in higher education research, Tight explores key topics: teaching and learning, course design, the student experience, quality, system policy, institutional management, academic work, and knowledge and research.
Trends in Assessment by
Trends in Assessmentprovides readers with a survey of the state-of-the-art of the enduring assessment concepts and approaches developed over the past twenty-five years, and includes chapters by acknowledged experts who describe how emerging assessment trends and ideas apply to their programs and pedagogies, covering: Community Engagement ePortfolios Faculty Development Global Learning Graduate and Professional Education High-Impact Practices Learning Improvement and Innovation Assessment Trends from NILOA STEM Student Affairs Programs and Services The concluding chapters point to a future of assessment and identify several meta-trends in assessment. The book was conceived by organizers and contributors of the Assessment Institute in Indianapolis, the nation's oldest and largest higher education assessment event, and includes contributions by the following partners of the Institute: Association for the Assessment of Learning in Higher Education (AALHE); Association for Authentic, Experiential, and Evidence-Based Learning (AAEEBL); Association for General and Liberal Studies (AGLS); Association for Institutional Research (AIR); Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U); Center for Postsecondary Research (CPR)/National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE); and Higher Education Data Sharing Consortium (HEDS). Trends in Assessmentserves as a vital resource for faculty, student affairs professionals, administrators, anyone involved in accreditation, and scholars in the field.
